Chef John's Baked Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Either his oven runs hot or mine runs colder than set as after 18 minutes, my yokes were still runnier than his in the video. Made this as a late night supper, used some marinara from my favorite restaurant, Bravo, and had no fresh basil or parsley on hand. Otherwise I followed the recipe closely - good shaved Assiago from local Italian specialty store and same with toast - Wonderful!!!! and exactly the right amount for a late light supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I used pizza sauce, a little pesto (no oil) and a little half and half (not heavy cream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Very, very good. I made the recipe pretty much as is but but didn't have any cream so I used half and half. Do be careful, though, not to overcook, thinking the eggs are too loose. The baking dish keeps enough heat to cook the eggs further even as its on the table and mine were a bit over done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Delicious - Made it as written in individual cast iron pans. Dipped warm Italian bread into the mix and - WoW! We'll make this again! Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Made mine with 505 Green Chile . Totally outstanding and will make it for company anytime. Topped it with cheddar cheese and bacon bits. I just watched the dish starting at 10 minutes and I think we finished up at 15. Sure glad I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Great! Easy and my hubby and I gobbled them up! Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
My Mom made this when we were kids, only she did it ontop of the stove in a fry pan with a lid, tried Chef John's, tasted wonderful and brought back a lot of memories,only difference is she used to put two slices of crisp bacon on the side. My Mom told us her Grandmother made this for her when she was a child in Italy. Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Made this for lunch, really really delish,plan to make it for brunch in a couple of weeks when all the family will be here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This was a wonderful Saturday lunch - rich, quick, simple, full of flavor, and, best of all, not TOO filling. We used a really good jarred marinara sauce, and I think that made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Need to put a note on why to use the ramekin for the eggs before adding to sauce. This is so you don't get any shell in the sauce from cracking the eggs. If you're supremely confident you won't accidentally get shell in, then crack directly into the sauce. Tried this morning and these were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Chef John's Eggs Benedict

See how to make a classic brunch dish with poached eggs and hollandaise.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States