Chef John's Baked Eggplant Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
going to try this sounds great and i worked the calories and it is closer to 230 per servings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This was sooooo good. I was a little afraid because it was so simple, no spices. I tried it and it is great. The salami gave it a perfect flavor. I was going to freeze some, but I'm eating one every day for breakfast instead. A must try if you are an eggplant fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
These are absolutely delicious and the possibilities are endless! We happen to be gluten free/dairy free, along with a few other allergens, so we had to miss out on the best parts of this recipe and it was STILL fabulous!! Love it! We were surprised at how nice and crisp the eggplant was and how perfectly it worked as "sandwich bread." This is a terrific Paleo recipe when made with Almond Flour (as we did).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Rating this a 5 for taste and simplicity. Makes a great weeknight dinner. I subbed fontina for the provolone because that was what I had on hand and served with warm marinara - because my husband has to have sauce! I did peel the eggplant and salt it to eliminate the bitterness (just a personal preference.). These were very simple to make. Much less work than frying the eggplant - and healthier too! The only thing that I found odd was that it called for 16 slices of eggplant to make 4 sandwiches. Not sure what I should do with the extra slices of eggplant :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vabeachgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I love eggplant and this was a great way to enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
This was my first experience, so I did take the time to peel and salt the eggplant slices. Didn't want to be turned off to the taste of eggplant right off the bat. I didn't have cayenne pepper, so I subbed paprika and I think it had a fantastic flavor. My only concern was that, just after eating my first 'samwich', I saw the nutrtional values and was appalled. 58 carbs? 150 fat? 2000 cals? Whaa...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Wow! This recipe is fantastic, even more delicious that I expected and a big hit at my house! It is even delicious reheated the next day. I've come to trust Chef John and will usually choose his recipes over any others. Thank you, Chef, for all your great contributions to my favorite recipe site, from my now favorite contributor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coalport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I loved the ease in making these and because they can be served warm or at room temperature, they would be perfect quartered and served as appetizers. I thought they were very good and will try them again using pepperoni and other ingredients for the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
EXCLLENT! I used buffalo mozzarella in place of provolone, personal preference only. Placed fresh basil between layers. These are delicious warm or at room temperature. I couldn't tell you how they would taste as leftovers - because there weren't any! Only change I would make next time is one less slice of salami in each sandwich to cut down on the salt level. I cut these in quarters and used them as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Everyone in the family absolutely LOVES this just as is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States