Chef John's Baked Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Excellent! Will make again as often as possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Northglenn, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
delicious! My husband, who never really says much about new recipes, even said it was the best squash he's ever eaten. Thanks so much for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUTTERCUP_CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ronan, Montana, USA
Living In: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was delicious. The rare times I have eaten squash, never liked them. However, this recipe is excellent! I have become a fan of squash thanks to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This was wonderfully delicious! The only trouble I had was scoring the squash; find the right knife and be careful! I found a small paring knife to be the best once I cut the squash in half. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJHMIRACLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dewitt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Our favorite way to eat squash now. Thank you for a wonderful recipe! I make it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I thought this was really a winner. I read some of the other reviews and took some of their advice. I changed the orange juice to pineapple juice and doubled the maple syrup and butter but took out the brown sugar. The best part was the cayenne pepper. When you first taste this dish it is sweet but in the aftermath of your bite... a nice warmth from the cayenne. I will sure make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I tried this recipe for my first-ever encounter with acorn squash! I prepared it exactly as instructed, with the one exception of softening the squash in the microwave before cutting it in half (so much easier!). I pierced it with a fork and nuked it for about 5 minutes, then reduced the initial time in the oven to 20 minutes. It turned out beautifully. Scoring the flesh really allowed the glaze to seep in well, and my guests loved the fact that the glaze was sweet, but not TOO sweet. It is refreshing to stumble upon an acorn squash recipe that doesn't drown the flavor in butter and brown sugar! As I side dish, I prepared rice with sauteed celery, mushrooms, apples, onions, water chestnuts, almonds, and Craisins. It was a delicious and relatively simple autumn meal, and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suz
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Recipe is a keeper! The squash was not as ripe as I would have liked it. It wasn't that beautiful orange color of John's in the video. Next time I will get the squash from the Farmer's Market instead of Walmart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Faribault, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Very good! Think I'll add a bit more cayenne next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Pretty good side dish, the scoring made the glaze adhere better, but the cooking time on the written recipe isn't accurate, should cook longer the second part of cooking more like 40 minutes as in the video. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Chef John’s Five-Spice Carrots

These roasted carrots are an easy, aromatic, and deliciously different side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States