Cheezy Macaroni and Little Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
The onion was a littel bit much. I would use garlic powder instead, in a smaller quantity. My children LOVED this...even the super-picky 8-year old! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macungie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This was very good. I didn't have frozen carrots so I used canned and it still turned out fine. I also added a dash of garlic and onion powder in place of the minced onion. This dish made a lot so make sure you have a few mouths to feed if you make this, next time I'll half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbermuffin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Washington, USA
Living In: Quincy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This was very easy & my kids really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Creative use of mac and cheese, thanks! I took a shortcut and used a boxed mix of mac and cheese, so I modified the directions a bit. I boiled the noodles and carrots together & drained and then put the onion (and garlic--had to add that) and little smokies in with the mix from the box and the milk and butter, fried that for a minute, then mixed it all together. It worked just fine. I do prefer homemade mac and cheese, but when you have 20 boxes of the storebought it's hard to justify making it from scratch until the boxes are gone! I like the add ins to normal mac and cheese. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
It was good. My mom always made homemade mac 'n cheese with just velveeta, butter, and milk, but I never liked it. Nowadays, if I make it homemade, I use various cheeses (cojack, cheddar, etc.). This was really good though. I had fresh carrots that I boiled for a bit before putting it in the cheese mixture. I used onion powder and garlic powder rather than flakes, which I don't have anyways. I added some of the carrot water to the cheese mixture. I used cheddar, extra sharp cheddar, and generic velveeta. After two of us eating this (technically 3 I guess since I'm prego), there was A LOT leftover. I'm a VERY pick 23-year old and wasn't sure about the carrot thing. I'm glad I tried it. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aswan10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
My son loved it so I think that's a plus but the grease from the cheese and lil smokies was extremely over powering for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
My kids love mac and cheese and little smokies, so I thought this would be the perfect recipe to sneak in a veggie! They loved it so much, they didn't even mind the carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Instead of processed cheese, I like to used shredded sharp cheddar instead. I also like to add a little hot sauce. If you don't have Lil' Smokies, this is just as good with sliced all beef hot dogs. My kids inhale this whenever I make it--I don't usually make it for the grownups, this is usually best made when you've got kids over for a sleepover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I halved the recipe but used the whole package of lil smokies. Sour cream, mixed frozen veggies in place of milk and carrots and some ground mustard. It looked a little juvenile when I put it on the table, but my husband loved it. Who knew?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four-Cheese Macaroni

Watch how to make this top-rated macaroni and cheese recipe.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States