Cheesy Zucchini Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
made this twice already.The first time my bread did stay a little soggy.So the second time i made this i made some adjustments,first thing i did was double the recipe, toast the bread slightly and added cheese to the mixture and not just on top.turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This is the first time I've cooked with zucchini, other than to just saute or grill it. It was great! I consider recipes to be guidelines and always consider the recipe reviews. Here are the changes I made: I used 2 cups of dry plain bread cubes, 2 eggs, Lawry's seasoning salt, 1 t of jarred roasted garlic, 1 cup of mozzarella (in an attempt to make it lighter), a chopped green onion and 3 cups of zucchini. I also baked it in an 8 by 8 dish. We had it as the main part of the meal and loved it, the bread was perfect and not mushy and the zucchini was tender. It had lots of flavor and the extra egg helped hold it together. It surpassed my expectations and I plan to make it again except make a little more so it fills the 8 by 8 dish more. Thank you for a yummy, inexpensive, beautiful to look at and nutritious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Delicious! 5 slices of toasted Italian pane bread (cubed), 1/4 cup melted butter, 3 cups zucchini chopped, 1/4 large purple onion chopped fine, 1 tsp garlic powder, 2 eggs beaten, 2 cups sharp cheddar cheese. Spray 8 x 8 glass pan with Pam. Bake on 350 covered for 30 mins. then uncovered for 20 mins. 6 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I love this recipe! I put in two zucchini plants this spring and thinking that I just may be overwhelmed by squash, and instead I wish I had planted another. This recipe is so simple and tasty. I like to vary the bread and found that chewy breads such as french or italian, lend a wonderful texture. Try differernt cheeses too. Monterrey Jack or Muenster are great. Other than that, I don't change a thing except maybe less onion. This casserole, along with a salad, has become one of my favorite meals. What makes it even more special is when I go to my desert garden and pick a lovely, fresh zucchini just for this dish! Plant some zucchini and you will be well rewarded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catzinaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
FABULOUS!! I loved this, hubby loved this, 18 month old loved this! Used some of the reviews to make this wonderful base recipe even better... used bottled minced garlic (2 tsp, we love garlic) an extra slice of bread, about a half cup more zucchini, 2 eggs, and I accidentally melted a half cup of butter, so I was naughty and added the whole thing :). I put 1/3 of the cheese mixed in the casserole sprinkled the rest on top. I added some Lawerys seasoning as well. Put in a 8x8 pan and cooked 20 minutes covered, 20 minutes uncovered. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef.in.training

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. George, Utah, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
this was okay. It was the first time anyone in my family ate zucchini. My only advice for when I make this again, cook it for only 45 minutes, It was too hard and crunchy. It would've been great otherwise. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
As I put it in the oven, I thought, "This doesn't have enough spices in it. It's going to be bland." But it wasn't! It was a really nice side dish, tasty without overpowering. I used a Monterrey Jack type cheese, and only about 1.5 cups (all I had). I also used day-old bakery bread, toasted in the toaster oven, but the 4 slices of that looked like too much bread, so I added another half-cup of zucchini. Oh, and at that point, it looked too dry, so I added a second egg. But even with all those adjustments, it came out very yummy. I also used an 11x17 pan, based on another reviewer's suggestion. I highly recommend this! It was an excellent compliment to a simple marinated, grilled chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBARBUSCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
We love this recipe! A great way to use up those summer veggies! I added cubed chicken breast...and it was even tastier! Thanks for the great recipe, Dixie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
I brought this to my in-laws for dinner, and they loved it; I thought it was pretty good. I used both zucchini and yellow squash, and I added an extra cup of it. I used 2 slices of toasted bread and about 1-1/2 cups of chicken-flavored stuffing mix. I also used garlic powder instead of garlic salt (plenty of salt in the stuffing). I think this is a good zucchini dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2001
Very simple to make,would add cheese to the actual mix,as opposed to just sprinkling on top.Perhaps next time add more garlic salt to it.But,overall,very tasty indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCELI6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States