Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Bob Loblaw
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Great recipe, benefitted by some spice! I compiled many of the suggestions here and came up with a version that I think tastes great. 1. I cook the zucchini separately from the rest of the veggies so they can have their own layer in the lasagna. 2. I heavily seasoned all the veggies with several big shakes of basil and oregano, salt (several large pinches), pepper and garlic. I added ~5 cloves to kick it up. I also threw in a few shakes of crushed red pepper. 3. I added garlic powder to the white/parmesan sauce. Butter would richen it up, but I wanted to try to keep it somewhat healthy. 4. I added some tomato slices to the top of the pile, then smothered it in mozz + parm cheese. It adds a nice flavor, and is a nice visual touch in my opinion... 5. I cook mine for about 45-50 minutes, uncovered, in order for the top to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
450 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
This is an overall good recipe. I was skeptical about cooking it at first because of the previous reviews stating that it was bland and time consuming. However, you have to simply know your own taste when preparing any foods. As for the kitchen novice, no excuses! I am a 21 year old college student who is just learning how to cook! As for complaints about the spinach mixture, you must like spinach enoungh to withstand the bitter taste. I love spinach but still used more than enough pepper to hide the taste. I will agree that this does take longer than listed. But the max time it took me was approximately 1 hour and 45 minutes. If you think about it, it actually takes 60-90 mins to cook a store bought lasagna. Also, I took the advice of some reviewers. I did add diced tomatoes, added butter to the flour mixture to prevent the taste of flour, reduced the amount of ricotta/cottage cheese used, and increased the amount of parmesean. Now, I ran short on veggies and cheese because the recipe does not state how many layers are suppose to be made. But the recipe still came out good having been my first time to cook lasagna and I do not mind eating what I have cooked for the next coupla days until it is gone!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2002
I make a similar lasagna, if you want to make it more flavorful, substitute the sauce by adding a can of cream of celery soup to the ricotta cheese mixture, you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
The only problem I had with the recipe was the fact that it did not specify how many layers to make. I made two. I used 32 ounces in ricotta, rather than using any cottage cheese. I substituted a cup of pesto for the spinach to give it a little more flavor. In addition, I julienned the carrots and zucchini rather than slicing them, with a mandoline. I also used 4 tablespoons of butter, melting it in the saucepan, before adding the flour. The flour has to cook a little with the butter to get rid of the "flour-y" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I was drawn to this recipe as it did not use marinara sauce. However, I would caution anyone who is thinking about making it that it is extremely time consuming and bland. DEFINITELY ADD SOME SPICES!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kane, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This was really good. I rated it 4 stars because it really could have used a hint of tomato somewhere, maybe even chopped or diced and added to the layers. I made a healthier version by using all reduced fat cheeses and it was still really good. If you're vegetarian or a healthy eater you'll love this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
I doubled the sauce in this recipe and it still wasn't really enough...kind of a dry lasagna, but very very tasty!! I added more veggies...broccoli, yellow squash, zucchini, onion, carrots, fresh mushrooms, garlic, and plenty of parmesan cheese too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
We served this to over 200 people, after I had tried it at home a few times, and got many compliments. Make sure you saute the vegetables, especially the carrots and then cook the appropriate amount of time. Thanks Rachel, this was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
I love lasagna and this as as good as the tomato version! I made this recipe but used frozen vegetables instead of fresh to save time and added basil to the spinach mixture. I'll definitely make this again and again!!! April
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
I made this for company today and they loved it. They all wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Layers of flavors make this 5-star lasagna a hearty hit.

Fresh Herb & Vegetable Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a prize-winning veggie, chicken, and herb lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States