Cheesy Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
My husband and I loved this recipe and I will definitely make it again! Instead of a block of cheese I used a pound of shredded sharp cheddar cheese and it worked out fine. I paired it with a sourdough baguette which was delicious. Another great thing about this recipe is that it makes so much you can freeze it to eat later. This is now one of my favorite soup recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Wonderful recipe! Super tasty, hearty, and easy! I am a vegetarian always looking for something to make that also satisfies the carnivores in my life. This did it! Many went back for seconds (including me) and others who claim they don't like any vegetables easily ate it up! My boyfriend's father even asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glenburn, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I used 1/2 stalk celery. Canned green beans and omitted the peas and used corn that I froze. Gave most away and everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
My girls loved this. I did not use canned peas, but I added some frozen broccoli instead. I also used skim milk and 2% velveeta and shredded sharp cheddar cheeses. They loved it with grilled cheese. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
If you don't add any further seasoning, you may be disappointed with this soup. However, a little extra salt and pepper, and maybe some cumin and red pepper, kicks this up to a rich, creamy, soulful delight. Prep and cook time is significantly longer than 45 minutes, expect to simmer this most of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Best soup ever!!! We loved it...great on a cold day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This was pretty good stuff! I did the cooking process a little different by sauteing the onion, garlic, celery, carrots and green beans first and then added the water, bouillon, and potatoes to that. I did not have the peas so I left those out and used shredded sharp cheddar in place of the processed cheese. Definitely needs a little S&P action though, but other than that...good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I love this recipe! I subbed out smart balance for butter and almond milk for traditional milk. Worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Made this the other day. Turned out great. Only difference was I used different veggies, what i had on hand, and cheddar cheese instead of processed. It was super easy and great the next day. My husband liked it and he doesn't normally like soup. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalbee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I have been making soup for quite some time. I love to make vegetable soup in the fall and this year I was looking to change it up a bit. This did it!!!!!! It was perfect and so flavorful! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States