Cheesy Turnips and Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Among a group of twenty-somethings, the consensus is: DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
We loved this dish so much !! We added shrimp, more white sauce with Ramano cheese the second time we made it, and we will definately have it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
My husband cringed when I said "turnips", but he loved this, as did I. What a good combination! Wish I would have made this sooner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I found this recipe in a Taste of Home magazine years ago and have made it frequently since. It's an excellent side dish for holiday meals, especially if you're having company, as it makes quite a bit. I made the mistake once of doubling it, and we had way more than we could possibly eat. The cheese sauce is delicious and is a perfect compliment to the turnips and carrots. It's a delicious side dish, and one I'll continue to make for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I normally do not like cheesy-vegetable recipes, but this was really good! Instead of putting the turnips & carrots back into the sauce, I put them in a baking dish, poured the sauce over and popped it in the oven for abut 15 or 20 minutes. I probably used a bit less cheese that what's called for but will make this the same way again. Nice to have another way to prepare turnips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
WOW. Turnips made yummy. I get turnips every winter from my CSA, and struggle to find a recipe that makes them edible. This was wonderful! I didn't even have carrots. I also didn't have fresh ginger so I tossed a chunk of candied ginger in there, and just fished it out when the turnips were cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This was quite tasty. My first time using turnips and I look forward to cooking them again. I made the dish early in the day and then put it in a 2 quart casserole dish in the fridge and cooked it in the oven for about 1/2 hour at 350 (until it was bubbly). It was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I used reduced fat cheese, skim milk and also replaced the butter with olive oil. Awesome recipe. Even my daughter liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
made it with broccoli instead of celery since I didn't have any. Easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Excellent recipe. We added boiled brussels sprouts and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States