Cheesy Turnips and Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I normally do not like cheesy-vegetable recipes, but this was really good! Instead of putting the turnips & carrots back into the sauce, I put them in a baking dish, poured the sauce over and popped it in the oven for abut 15 or 20 minutes. I probably used a bit less cheese that what's called for but will make this the same way again. Nice to have another way to prepare turnips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I found this recipe in a Taste of Home magazine years ago and have made it frequently since. It's an excellent side dish for holiday meals, especially if you're having company, as it makes quite a bit. I made the mistake once of doubling it, and we had way more than we could possibly eat. The cheese sauce is delicious and is a perfect compliment to the turnips and carrots. It's a delicious side dish, and one I'll continue to make for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Pretty good, I liked the combination of turnips and carrots. The turnips do get a bit lost, though. It is more of a recipe to disguise them than play to them. Next time, I would make the cheese sauce without extra vege water, I found it too thin and without enough flavor. I think that just the milk and cheese would be much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I was pleasantly surprised at how tasty this was! I had a bunch of turnips to use from out farm box this week, and no one in my family really cares for them. This recipe seemed like a somewhat family-friendly use for the turnips, so I gave it a try. It was quite easy to put together, and I didn't make any changes to the recipe. The cheese sauce is really tasty...I love the twist the ginger gives to the flavor! I did have at least a cup of sauce leftover, though, after the vegetables were well covered. If I make this again, I'd definitely cut back on the sauce recipe. Other than that, I have no complaints...delicious! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
WOW. Turnips made yummy. I get turnips every winter from my CSA, and struggle to find a recipe that makes them edible. This was wonderful! I didn't even have carrots. I also didn't have fresh ginger so I tossed a chunk of candied ginger in there, and just fished it out when the turnips were cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Excellent recipe for sneaking things like turnips on wary-veggie eaters! I like a small dice on the veggies. When my grandparents served Thanksgiving, they always had mashed carrot and turnip, but that just doesn't agree with everyone's tastes. I liked it, so a cheesy version is pleasing to both me and hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I love both turnips and carrots, but my grandchildren don't like turnips. I seen this recipe and decided to try it. Made it just as the recipe called for and we all thought it was delicious. A unique way to combine two really great vegetables. Will make it over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Pretty good recipe - half the people liked and half didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This was quite tasty. My first time using turnips and I look forward to cooking them again. I made the dish early in the day and then put it in a 2 quart casserole dish in the fridge and cooked it in the oven for about 1/2 hour at 350 (until it was bubbly). It was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
A soupy, sloppy mess. Maybe could be improved by not adding the veg. water. But really, it didn't taste good enough to try and improve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States