Cheesy Turnips and Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This was pretty good. I could see myself using the sauce on a lot of different things. It did tend to hide the turnip rather than showcase it, but still wasn't a bad way to prepare them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EuroGirl6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgeway, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I thought it was too cheesy. Next time I'll halve the cream sauce part for a slighly simpler, and healthier, dish. However, my 4 year old was crazy for her turnips and carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
no celery or cheddar so i subbed green onions and skim mozzarella. thickened nicely and was creamy and delish. the turnips were a bit bitter, but it's my first time cooking them so perhaps that's natural. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I love both turnips and carrots, but my grandchildren don't like turnips. I seen this recipe and decided to try it. Made it just as the recipe called for and we all thought it was delicious. A unique way to combine two really great vegetables. Will make it over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Excellent recipe. We added boiled brussels sprouts and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I needed a turnip recipe & this was very good. Next time I may replace the ginger with some dried mustard. I joined a CSA for healthy eating and here I go cooking the veggies in butter and cheese-- Next time I'll try to cut back on both. I liked the slight crunch of the celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Westport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Really tasty! I decreased the amount of cheddar to a little over a half cup (all I had on hand) and it was still very cheesy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
made it with broccoli instead of celery since I didn't have any. Easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I used reduced fat cheese, skim milk and also replaced the butter with olive oil. Awesome recipe. Even my daughter liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Pretty good, I liked the combination of turnips and carrots. The turnips do get a bit lost, though. It is more of a recipe to disguise them than play to them. Next time, I would make the cheese sauce without extra vege water, I found it too thin and without enough flavor. I think that just the milk and cheese would be much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States