Cheesy Turnips and Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This was pretty good. I could see myself using the sauce on a lot of different things. It did tend to hide the turnip rather than showcase it, but still wasn't a bad way to prepare them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EuroGirl6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgeway, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I thought it was too cheesy. Next time I'll halve the cream sauce part for a slighly simpler, and healthier, dish. However, my 4 year old was crazy for her turnips and carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
no celery or cheddar so i subbed green onions and skim mozzarella. thickened nicely and was creamy and delish. the turnips were a bit bitter, but it's my first time cooking them so perhaps that's natural. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I love both turnips and carrots, but my grandchildren don't like turnips. I seen this recipe and decided to try it. Made it just as the recipe called for and we all thought it was delicious. A unique way to combine two really great vegetables. Will make it over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Excellent recipe. We added boiled brussels sprouts and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I needed a turnip recipe & this was very good. Next time I may replace the ginger with some dried mustard. I joined a CSA for healthy eating and here I go cooking the veggies in butter and cheese-- Next time I'll try to cut back on both. I liked the slight crunch of the celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Westport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Really tasty! I decreased the amount of cheddar to a little over a half cup (all I had on hand) and it was still very cheesy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
made it with broccoli instead of celery since I didn't have any. Easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I used reduced fat cheese, skim milk and also replaced the butter with olive oil. Awesome recipe. Even my daughter liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Pretty good, I liked the combination of turnips and carrots. The turnips do get a bit lost, though. It is more of a recipe to disguise them than play to them. Next time, I would make the cheese sauce without extra vege water, I found it too thin and without enough flavor. I think that just the milk and cheese would be much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States