Cheesy Turnips and Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This was fairly thick, but quite tasty! A great way to use up those root vegetables! We didn't have any celery and it was good without it. For the leftovers, I am going to mix in a diced, grilled chicken breast and make some rice and we'll have a main dish! Thanks for a great way to tame turnips - the typically overpowering vegetable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I got my bf to eat a TURNIP.....AND LIKE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This was the first time I used turnips. I had lots of carrots and turnips that needed to be used. Used the recipes as is, but started the turnips a couple of minutes before the carrots. Came out good. My 11yr old ate it, but my 2yr old wouldn't touch it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I loved this recipe, but my turnip hating husband only gave it a 3, so I compromised with a 4 rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was wonderful. Recipe turned out perfectly. The sauce was rich but not TOO rich. The next day I mixed the leftovers with some tuna and macaroni noodles - made an AWESOME tuna casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I really did not like this very much -- vegetables in a cheesy roux. Not only was the taste of the vegetables completely lost in the thick sauce, but the turnips and the carrots cooked at a different rate, so the turnips were too mushy when the carrots were done. Next time I will try to roast the turnips or make a turnip mash in order to get the flavor of the turnip. I gave the dish 3 stars instead of 2 because I feel like I should have known better -- this is just not my kind of dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This got a thumbs up from my family. Very good way to utilize turnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sand Springs, Montana, USA
Living In: Exeter, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I substituted whole wheat flour & olive oil for the butter to test it out and MMM this may be my new favorite comfort food! I have the feeling I will be making adaptations of the sauce to go on a lot of veggies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Morrisville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This took me for a trip down memory lane; when I was a child, my mother used to make this as a stew, (no cheese) adding much more cooking liquid from adding potatoes, peas, beans all the goodness of the garden. Sop it all up with fresh homemade crusty bread. Thank You Sandra for the savoury memory
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I received a bunch of turnips from my CSA and didn't have a clue what to do with them. This recipe is wonderful! I didn't have any celery, so I subbed two stalks of swiss chard since my CSA gave me that as well (without a clue what to do with it either!). I used skim milk and 2% cheddar. Delicious! (Additional note: I didn't get much water from the veggies and the sauce's thickness was perfect).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States