Cheesy Turnips and Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I was pleasantly surprised at how tasty this was! I had a bunch of turnips to use from out farm box this week, and no one in my family really cares for them. This recipe seemed like a somewhat family-friendly use for the turnips, so I gave it a try. It was quite easy to put together, and I didn't make any changes to the recipe. The cheese sauce is really tasty...I love the twist the ginger gives to the flavor! I did have at least a cup of sauce leftover, though, after the vegetables were well covered. If I make this again, I'd definitely cut back on the sauce recipe. Other than that, I have no complaints...delicious! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I was searching for a recipe that will use up my turnips otherwise they would just go to waste. I'm glad I found this one! I've actually never tried to cook turnips before and this recipe turned out great! Really, it's smothered in cheesy sauce... who wouldn't like that? My boyfriend and I loved it. I followed the recipe exactly. It was a little runny, but it sat on the stove for about 10 minutes while my chicken was cooking, and it thickened up nicely. Thanks Sandra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zoey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tustin, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I've made this a few times now, it's wonderful. Even professed turnip haters will devour this dish. The perfect side dish for any big holiday meal to the mundane Wednesday night supper. Turnips never had it so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Pretty good recipe - half the people liked and half didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
A soupy, sloppy mess. Maybe could be improved by not adding the veg. water. But really, it didn't taste good enough to try and improve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Excellent recipe for sneaking things like turnips on wary-veggie eaters! I like a small dice on the veggies. When my grandparents served Thanksgiving, they always had mashed carrot and turnip, but that just doesn't agree with everyone's tastes. I liked it, so a cheesy version is pleasing to both me and hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Fantastic! Made it as a side dish, then ate so much, I didn't bother making the rest of the meal. Ate a bowl of it and can't stop nibbling still. I'm officially a turnip fanatic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I am new to cooking and eating turnips and I don't consider myself a huge fan but, I loved this recipe! It reminded me of the cheese vegetables my dad made when I was a kid. After cooking the carrots and turnips, I didn't have any vegetable water left but it didn't matter, these were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
this is yummy - maybe just a little too cheesy (and i love cheese sauce). i might tone it down a bit next time. my two year old ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States