Cheesy Tuna Mornay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Quite tasty, though I'm still not quite sure what a mornay is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
Had to double the amount of pasta. Found it lacked flavour. Suggest adding any spice to liven it up. Otherwise, it was an 'ok' meal for my son and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I'm not sure why the recipe only calls for 1/2 cup uncooked pasta. That wouldn't be enough to feed two people. I put in a box of rotini but kept everything else the same. I omitted the peas and corn since my son wouldn't eat it with them included. Everyone really liked this. It reminded me of Tuna Helper but better. I put crushed potato chips on top to add flavor. Very good. Had enough leftover for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kasota, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I used 8 oz of pasta and 3 small cans of tuna and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
The kids loved this it was great and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
Some cooking sauce info: Roux is equal parts flour cooked in melted butter. Roux plus milk makes a Bachamel sauce. Add cheese to Bachamel and it becomes a Mornay sauce. I added a little mustard powder, paprika and a hint of garlic to spice this up a bit. I also used 2 cups of wide egg noodles for the pasta. I also used frozen mixed veggies (you know, the carrots, corn, peas, and beans mix.) Was a nice and hearty meal that's pretty easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
My husband and I loved this recipe! We put a lot of extra cheese in it and over it - but that was just personal preference. Our 18 mth old hated it - we think it might be the texture which she hasn't had before - or it could just be typical toddler behaviour!! 5-star recipe, also easy to double or triple to make extra for freezing for those nights when you're too busy or too tired to cook. My husband says "It's Yum"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Living In: Caboolture, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
Both my partner and I gave this 5 stars, even though we both are not big fans of tuna. This was super yummy! I did add 1 tsp thyme and 1/4 tsp black pepper as I was worried it was going to be bland, and I used fettucine noodles as that is what I had, but still used the tuna, cheese sauce, peas and corn, and it was so good. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This is very cool, a tuna dish with no mushroom soup...I also tweeked: garlic powder, paprika, and used broccoli instead of peas and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This was so good and easy!! I put a little extra pasta and cheese though, and it came out great!! Will def be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States