Cheesy Tuna Mornay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Better than using cream soups in my opinion, and not that much harder to make. I googled mornay - it's a french culinary term meaning a cheese sauce made using a flour and butter base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I added 2 cups of pasta instead of a 1/2 cup that part really didn't make sense easy and very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This is a good base recipe, but needs a little doctoring up. Here is what I did - - Used double the flour, milk, and butter. Used 3/4 box of elbow macaroni. Added 2 cups shredded chedder in sauce, and 2 tbsp of spicy queso cheese dip. Added 1 can of corn and 2 cans of tuna. Sprinkled in black pepper. Used a 9 X 13 pan, topped with another cup of chedder cheese and topped with crumbled tortilla chips. Needed some salt and additional pepper, but with that addition, not too bad at all. Maybe add some garlic to it next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I thought that this was a very good recipe for making "Cream of Tuna" from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toddzilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Well, this wasn't bad by any means, but it wasn't great. It is my understanding that a mornay is a creamy cheese sauce... and this was not creamy at all. My main complaint is that this was so dry! Next time I think I would skip the flour and maybe add a little more milk. With the cheese in there, I think it would be plenty creamy and not runny, even without the flour. It was quick and easy though, so thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Pretty good, next time I'll probably add broccoli instead of corn, but thats just a personal choice. My kids loved it the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This is good, if not a true Mornay sauce. A Mornay sauce is a Béchamel sauce with shredded or grated cheese added. Usually, it is half Gruyère and half Parmesan, though some variations use different combinations of Gruyère, Emmental cheese, or white cheddar. It is often served with seafood or vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by potzel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nelspruit, Mpumalanga, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Very tasty. Next time, I'll use chicken instead of tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Very good spin on the classic tuna casserole! I hate peas and feel like I need to eat them every now and then - I followed the recipe exactly and couldn't taste them and everything was delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Guilford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
A hit with everyone. I used about 2 cups of uncooked pasta, but didn't change anything else in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States