Cheesy Tuna Mornay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
ok, made this last night with mixed reviews. and i did change it up a bit to make it a healthier meal. used chicken instead of tuna, also about 1/2 cup of diced ham from a left over ham steak, DH isn't a big tuna fan, used skim milk,[plus part of a can of ff evaporated i had in the fridge 1 large bag of ff shredded cheese plus 4 slices of reg full fat cheese, the shredded was mild cheddar the full fat was montery, skipped the butter part and just mixed flour w/ a bit of the milk to thicken the cheese sauce, skipped the corn, added portabello mushrooms i had sauteed in a bit of butter and garlic, diced onions and red pepper, (along with the peas) added salt, pepper, garlic poweder and still this recipe did not have alot of flavor. oh increased the pasta to 8 oz vs half a cup. made enough to feed 6. i personally liked it, low fat comfort food but DH did not, he said not a whole lot of flavor which i had to agree with, i will make it again but i think the lack of umph if you will was the cheese i used, not that it was ff but it was mild cheddar and monteray jack, think the next time i will use a sharp ff cheddar and maybe some low fat swiss. any how i still gave it a 4 because i thought it was good even though it didn't pop my taste buds. oh also mine ended up being like 367 cal per serving and 8 grams of fat 4 of which were saturated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
pretty standard recipe, but what is with the ridiculously small amount of pasta, which equates to serving less than one person. u would need at least 3 cups to serve 6 people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Oh my gosh! I threw the old Tuna noodle casserole recipe away. We did not want to stop eating this! It's amazing just like it is. I used one cup of heavy cream and 1/2 cup of milk and left out the veggies. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gayle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I make mine the same way but alway different because of what i have in the frig. allway a faverate I have read the other review and question put forward. Mornay is basicly a white sauce with cheese, i like to make mine with three different cheses. In this recipe the tuna could be replaced with salmon or chicken(BBQ chicken is what i have used in the past add a little hole-grain and dejon mastard)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
needs more pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
easy and tasty!! excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This recipe is flavorless. I used seasoned bread crumbs instead of plain ones thinking it might give it some flavor and it didn't much at all. This meal is edible, but very boring. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamacheese2004

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Ok...does anyone know what a mornay is? My family really liked this dish, and I liked that it was so easy to make. I did double the pasta and add some salt, pepper, garlic powder and red pepper. My four year old said it was "amazing" and already asked when I'm going to make it again. Oh, instead of breadcrumbs, I topped it with french fried onions. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
my family loves this dish! and I love the fact that it's so easy to cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Lima, Peru
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I made the recipe as is and thought it was a good basic start, but it did need some kick, so I added half a block of cream cheese and some Tony's creole seasoning. that did it! I will go back to this recipe to make again. I did saute onions and celery with the butter at the start, but that was just an effort to cram as many veggies in as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States