Cheesy Tuna Mornay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I added 2 cups of pasta instead of a 1/2 cup that part really didn't make sense easy and very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This is a good base recipe, but needs a little doctoring up. Here is what I did - - Used double the flour, milk, and butter. Used 3/4 box of elbow macaroni. Added 2 cups shredded chedder in sauce, and 2 tbsp of spicy queso cheese dip. Added 1 can of corn and 2 cans of tuna. Sprinkled in black pepper. Used a 9 X 13 pan, topped with another cup of chedder cheese and topped with crumbled tortilla chips. Needed some salt and additional pepper, but with that addition, not too bad at all. Maybe add some garlic to it next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I thought that this was a very good recipe for making "Cream of Tuna" from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toddzilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Well, this wasn't bad by any means, but it wasn't great. It is my understanding that a mornay is a creamy cheese sauce... and this was not creamy at all. My main complaint is that this was so dry! Next time I think I would skip the flour and maybe add a little more milk. With the cheese in there, I think it would be plenty creamy and not runny, even without the flour. It was quick and easy though, so thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Pretty good, next time I'll probably add broccoli instead of corn, but thats just a personal choice. My kids loved it the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This is good, if not a true Mornay sauce. A Mornay sauce is a Béchamel sauce with shredded or grated cheese added. Usually, it is half Gruyère and half Parmesan, though some variations use different combinations of Gruyère, Emmental cheese, or white cheddar. It is often served with seafood or vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by potzel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nelspruit, Mpumalanga, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Very tasty. Next time, I'll use chicken instead of tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Very good spin on the classic tuna casserole! I hate peas and feel like I need to eat them every now and then - I followed the recipe exactly and couldn't taste them and everything was delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Guilford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
A hit with everyone. I used about 2 cups of uncooked pasta, but didn't change anything else in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
ok, made this last night with mixed reviews. and i did change it up a bit to make it a healthier meal. used chicken instead of tuna, also about 1/2 cup of diced ham from a left over ham steak, DH isn't a big tuna fan, used skim milk,[plus part of a can of ff evaporated i had in the fridge 1 large bag of ff shredded cheese plus 4 slices of reg full fat cheese, the shredded was mild cheddar the full fat was montery, skipped the butter part and just mixed flour w/ a bit of the milk to thicken the cheese sauce, skipped the corn, added portabello mushrooms i had sauteed in a bit of butter and garlic, diced onions and red pepper, (along with the peas) added salt, pepper, garlic poweder and still this recipe did not have alot of flavor. oh increased the pasta to 8 oz vs half a cup. made enough to feed 6. i personally liked it, low fat comfort food but DH did not, he said not a whole lot of flavor which i had to agree with, i will make it again but i think the lack of umph if you will was the cheese i used, not that it was ff but it was mild cheddar and monteray jack, think the next time i will use a sharp ff cheddar and maybe some low fat swiss. any how i still gave it a 4 because i thought it was good even though it didn't pop my taste buds. oh also mine ended up being like 367 cal per serving and 8 grams of fat 4 of which were saturated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States