Cheesy Tuna Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Excellent in terms of time (it's quick!!), taste needed some work. Here's what I did: instead of saucepan, I used a deep skillet for preperation. I sauteed the tuna in melted butter and seasoned w salt and pepper. After adding the milk & cheese, I seasoned the whole thing with garlic salt. For the garnish (to add some crunch)I put some Ritz crackers in a sandwich bag and crushed them (just a bit) then added about 1/2 c shredded cheese, shook it up and spread it on top. Put the pan in the oven on broil for about 1 minute--made it more casserole-y. Tasted better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natascha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I just love the combonation of tuna cheese rice and peas. Its an exceptionally fun dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Pretty bland.... I added Garlic, Sauteed Mushrooms and I Sauteed and seasoned the fish prior to adding to the recipe and It was still quite bland not one I'll be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thom Gough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I love this. Very classic tuna casserole flavor not alot of work to get it. Good balance of flavors and really only takes about 15 minutes which is great for those nights when that's all you have and haven't even started to think about what to have. We tried it with the potato chips and I love what that brings to it so probably won't be trying it with the fried onions but that could be good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Oakland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This was pretty good. I did add some dill, seasoning salt and some garlic salt to the mix. I have a two year old so I crushed up some cheddar goldfish crackers for the topping and it was pretty good. That was the first time I got my toddler to eat tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I found and used this recipe because I was trying to use leftover leftover ingredients that I had in my house and it turned out pretty good! - I used mixed vegetables instead of just peas (because I didn't have any on hand). -I added dried chopped onions, garlic salt, garlic powder and pepper to give it flavor. Quick and easy meal! Only four stars because of the additions I had to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Creative Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucker, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Great base/starter recipe. I thought Id rate this to inform people of easy alterations. I improvised by cooking 1 1/2 c rice 3 c water in my rice cooker. I lowered the milk to only half a soup can since I was cooking the rice. I used one can of peas instead of frozen (I'm sure most frozen or canned veggies would be great) and I added some seasoning and used sour cream and onion potato chips. So if you have to improvise this is a great recipe. P.s I think I'll try it with pasta next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
this recipe was okay, i felt like it was missing something just couldn't put my finger on what but i will make it again and maybe try to figure out what it needs but it was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Yum! This was deceptively delicious. Reminds me of tuna casserole, but so much quicker. We added some onions, about 1/3 cup. Such an easy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Agree this is great base recipe. One of those nights where I had nothing planned and not much in the pantry/fridge. Cooked regular white rice. Then mixed in white tuna, the mushroom soup, milk, sliced fresh mushrooms, some garlic, onion, salt and pepper. Melted reduced fat colby cheese on top (less than a cup, though). My kids don't like peas and I left off the fried onions/chips to keep it low fat. Served with green beans on the side. Both kids loved it and said to please make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Pocket Dinner

This family-pleasing dinner is delicious and easy on the budget.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States