Cheesy Thumbprint Appetizers with Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Excellent. Delicate cheese flavor complimented nicely by a little taste of pepper jelly. I think I made my balls 1/2" as directed and this recipe made many more than 20 cookies. Each cookie was a tiny bite - just perfect for a party when you are snacking and talking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I was looking for an appetizer that didn't need to stay warm and was a little unique. This was definitely it! I took the advice of those who added some additional spices (garlic powder, salt, and paprika). This is a quick recipe and the final product looks very attractive. I also had to bake them for about 2-3 mins longer. The only pepper jelly that I found at the grocery store was an amber color. When I first opened the jar, I was a bit nervous that it wouldn't look appetizing, but since the cracker is golden, the amber colored jelly looked "sparkly". I would absolutely recommend this appetizer and have shared the recipe with several friends. Next time I may try the suggestion of the brown spicy mustard and hot sauce. Yes, there will definitely be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This is so easy and so good. I did add a bit of garlic powder as others suggested and I also added a wee bit of cayenne. I also used extra old cheddar cheese. They were gobbled up pretty quick. They will be perfect for Christmas with the green and red pepper jellies. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
These were perfect for a quick & simple appetizer needed for a little GNO gathering! Everyone loved them and looked very nice on any serving dish..thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I've made this a couple of times for parties where it is always devoured. I really love using a habanero jelly rather than the jalapeno jelly i tried the first time, which didn't have enough zip. Tillamook extra sharp (black wrapper) is my cheddar of choice and i used the suggestion of another reviewer to add a sprinkle of (hot) paprika to the top. When serving at a party, be sure you alert grazers it's a savory, cheesy dish, not a sweet dessert, which is looks like.yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Aurora, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I made half a batch of this recipe and took some to a friend's house for an appetizer. Everyone loved these. The cheese I used was Tillamook Sharp Cheddar. I bought mild pepper jelly, and when I make these again, I'll have to add some chili paste to it to make it hotter. I was thinking that if the hot jelly is red that it would make a really nice appy for Christmas by using both kinds. I did use my food processor, and the mixture came together well and handled well. I got 16 thumbprints using my small cookie scoop. The directions were right on, except I did let them bake for two minutes longer after putting in the jelly. Talk about an easy appetizer! Thanks so much for the recipe because I'll be sure to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I didn't think the dough was going to come together. It just looked like, well, cornmeal or something. I kept running the food processor and then suddenly the dough began to form. I needed to bake three extra minutes. And my jelly didn't seem hot enough so I VERY LIGHTLY sprinkled with some cayenne pepper. These are better after they are totally cooled. I have also made them with pepper jack cheese. Also good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This was originally published by Cabot Cheese. I use their Seriously Sharp. I also wait till closer to the end to flll, but that may be because my home made blackberry hot pepper jelly isn't as stiff as a comercial brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Made three batches of these little goodies for Christmas parties. Big hit! I made it as is, and used Tabasco red pepper jelly. I also made them a lot smaller than specified. They go fast, so next time I'll at least double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Easy, pretty, and delicious! I had red, green, and yellow hot pepper jellies, and used all three for our Christmas gathering. I think these appetizers would look more professional with less than a teaspoon jelly, but they are more yummy this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Hot Pepper Cheese Ball on the Better Show

Watch the crew at Allrecipes make a top-rated cheese ball on the Better Show.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States