Cheesy Thumbprint Appetizers with Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
These were so easy to make. I didn't run through a food processor but rather cut the mixture together with a pastry blender. I also added a little bit of hot pepper relish to the jam for a little more zing. You might want to explain that it's cheese and not a sweet cookie as looks are deceiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I made half a batch of this recipe and took some to a friend's house for an appetizer. Everyone loved these. The cheese I used was Tillamook Sharp Cheddar. I bought mild pepper jelly, and when I make these again, I'll have to add some chili paste to it to make it hotter. I was thinking that if the hot jelly is red that it would make a really nice appy for Christmas by using both kinds. I did use my food processor, and the mixture came together well and handled well. I got 16 thumbprints using my small cookie scoop. The directions were right on, except I did let them bake for two minutes longer after putting in the jelly. Talk about an easy appetizer! Thanks so much for the recipe because I'll be sure to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This was originally published by Cabot Cheese. I use their Seriously Sharp. I also wait till closer to the end to flll, but that may be because my home made blackberry hot pepper jelly isn't as stiff as a comercial brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This was very good! I made it exactly as written. The dough came together nicely in the food processor. I got 24 cookies out of this recipe using a small melon baller. For some reason the dough never browned around the edges. I even baked them for a few minutes longer. I couldn't leave them in the oven too long because the jelly would have totally dissolved! Next time I'll bake them much longer than 5 minutes before adding the jelly. Very tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I didn't think the dough was going to come together. It just looked like, well, cornmeal or something. I kept running the food processor and then suddenly the dough began to form. I needed to bake three extra minutes. And my jelly didn't seem hot enough so I VERY LIGHTLY sprinkled with some cayenne pepper. These are better after they are totally cooled. I have also made them with pepper jack cheese. Also good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Had a nice cheesy flavor, but very greasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I thought this was a good base recipe - but I found the cheese cracker part to be a bit bland. The second time I made the recipe, I added 3/4 teaspoon salt, 1/4 teaspoon paprika, and 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder, and I thought the crackers tasted much more savory. I also had to cook them a bit longer, but that may be because I'm in Denver (high altitude) Makes a great Christmas party appetizer if you have red and green pepper jelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Easy, pretty, and delicious! I had red, green, and yellow hot pepper jellies, and used all three for our Christmas gathering. I think these appetizers would look more professional with less than a teaspoon jelly, but they are more yummy this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Made three batches of these little goodies for Christmas parties. Big hit! I made it as is, and used Tabasco red pepper jelly. I also made them a lot smaller than specified. They go fast, so next time I'll at least double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Made these for the second time and they are very good. This time I used Taco seasoned cheese instead and they were even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Brie, Pear, and Black Pepper Appetizer

Try this simple cheese and fresh pear party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States