Cheesy Thumbprint Appetizers with Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
These were quite tasty. They definitely need to cool completely before they are eaten, as they taste too floury until they are cooled. Next time, will probably add cayenne to the cracker mixture as, even with the "hot" pepper jelly, we wished for more spice. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Make these every year for Christmas appetizers. I add chopped chives, paprica, red pepper flakes, black pepper, and use miscellany of sharp cheeses ... Balderson, Imperial and Gruyere, whatever is available. I roll the balls in sesame seed and make the indents immediately to make a larger cavern for the jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I made this receipe when I needed something that didn't have to be kept either warm or chilled. After reading the reviews I decided to add 1/4 teaspoon each of paprika and garlic. They were a great hit. The reviews are very helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lotty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wiarton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
These were perfect for a quick & simple appetizer needed for a little GNO gathering! Everyone loved them and looked very nice on any serving dish..thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I've made this a couple of times for parties where it is always devoured. I really love using a habanero jelly rather than the jalapeno jelly i tried the first time, which didn't have enough zip. Tillamook extra sharp (black wrapper) is my cheddar of choice and i used the suggestion of another reviewer to add a sprinkle of (hot) paprika to the top. When serving at a party, be sure you alert grazers it's a savory, cheesy dish, not a sweet dessert, which is looks like.yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Aurora, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This is so easy and so good. I did add a bit of garlic powder as others suggested and I also added a wee bit of cayenne. I also used extra old cheddar cheese. They were gobbled up pretty quick. They will be perfect for Christmas with the green and red pepper jellies. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Excellent. Delicate cheese flavor complimented nicely by a little taste of pepper jelly. I think I made my balls 1/2" as directed and this recipe made many more than 20 cookies. Each cookie was a tiny bite - just perfect for a party when you are snacking and talking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Super fun and very unique idea, but the day I made them the cookie part was lightly crispy, but tasted pasty, by the second day it was more cookie than cracker but had better flavor. Unfortunatly not the biggest hit at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I was looking for an appetizer that didn't need to stay warm and was a little unique. This was definitely it! I took the advice of those who added some additional spices (garlic powder, salt, and paprika). This is a quick recipe and the final product looks very attractive. I also had to bake them for about 2-3 mins longer. The only pepper jelly that I found at the grocery store was an amber color. When I first opened the jar, I was a bit nervous that it wouldn't look appetizing, but since the cracker is golden, the amber colored jelly looked "sparkly". I would absolutely recommend this appetizer and have shared the recipe with several friends. Next time I may try the suggestion of the brown spicy mustard and hot sauce. Yes, there will definitely be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
The first time I made these I followed recipe exactly and found the cheesy cookie part to taste a bit too much like flour. Next go round I added a squirt of brown mustard, some garlic powder and a couple drops of hot pepper sauce to the mixture before mixing in the food processor. Personally I felt it had a much better flavor. These are simple and beautiful appetizers, and go very fast. Definately try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Hot Pepper Cheese Ball on the Better Show

Watch the crew at Allrecipes make a top-rated cheese ball on the Better Show.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States