Cheesy Squash and Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This was a great dish, but I did change it a bit based on what I had in the house and my own preferences. I skipped the Bisquik and just used a few extra crackers (i used the Olive Oil and Sea Salt Flat Bread Kind. I also used Italian Bread Crumbs instead of plain. I didn't have any green squash so I just used about 6 yellow squash and a whole onion instead of a half. I used 3/4 of a cup of cabot smoked bacon cheddar cheese and it was a big hit. I also baked it at 350 for 35 minutes. Husband loved it, definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARISSA ARECCHI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kellie
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I really like this recipe, but I highly suggest using a bit more salt and possibly some black pepper and a tad of red pepper for a bit of zing. As written it's a little too bland for me, but with those added, perfect!!!! The consistency is really good, and I love squash and zucchini, so this is a nice add to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Absolutely Delicious. I changed a few things like the type of cheese and added several different ones, instead of saltines I used ritz and I used Italian bread crumbs and instead of slicing them I made them thicker and cut the slices into 1/4 pieces. It made it that much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Hamilton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This recipe is delicious. I made some adjustments from what others had posted but changed a few things too. I doubled the recipe, added 2 jalepeno peppers, which I cooked with the onion in 1/4 cup of the butter. I steamed the squash and zucchini. I deleted the Bisquick.I uses seasoned bread crumbs,Italian Style Panko, about a cup, in the mix and added some on the top also.I cooked it for 15 minutes at 375 degrees and then lowered the temp to 325 for the last 115 minutes. Delicious with lots of compliments. I made it again today...Great way to use up the zucchini. Tastes wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
It is fantastic, and I was skeptical. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amybeth Hurst

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I enjoyed this side dish. A couple things I did differently was added potatoes, and topped with croutons instead of breadcrumbs. This helped even out the softness of the rest of the dish. I think the recipe could have a few more seasonings like pepper and maybe some parsley and red pepper flakes. The recipe did not mention how think to cut the vegetables. I did mine very thin. If I made it again I would cut them a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I really liked this recipe, and I have made it three times now. The first time, I followed the recipe exactly out of respect for its contributor. Very good! The second time, I omitted the baking mix and added some basil and oregano. Even better! The third time, I used Panko bread crumbs mixed with grated parmesan cheese for the topping, left out the baking mix again(it really doesn't seem to add much or to affect recipe when omitted), and increased herbs slightly. I think this is the variation I will stick with. Thank you very much for a solid recipe using the ubiquitous squash of summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Wonderful recipe however I did not boil the onions I put them in with the ritz and biquick. My husband and I finished it up in no time Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I made this last night for an impromptu neighborhood cook-out. It was wonderful! Everyone loved it! It was so easy too, now I did make quite a few tweaks! I didn't have a lot of the ingredients it called for so I used what I had on hand, now I have a new easy and amazing recipe! I used all squash, (didn't have zucchini) So 2lb cut squash, I used 2cups,(the whole bag) of shredded cheddar cheese ,a box of cornbread dressing mix, 4 tsp sugar, a stick of melted butter, the 2 eggs,1tsp salt, and 1/2 onion-chopped, 1/2 cup half and half, i then mixed all this together in the casserole dish itself then covered with foil and baked it! Oh, I did sprinkle with bread crumbs before I baked it, but that probably isn't even needed! It turned out awesome! Bake at 325 for about 35 minutes. So so so good! And......also very important it is quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Horner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Really enjoyed recipe. Very tasty. I drained the water from the vegetables using a colander and paper towels to minimize casserole being so watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States