Cheesy Squash and Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This totally rocks as far as my girls are concerned! My guys, didn't even try this and really missed out on a delish comfort casserole. One of my daughters said this tasted similar to a Squash and Onions that my mom would make..so surprisingly I was shocked. The recipe was rather easy to do. The only thing I had to do was make a batch of baking mix, because I was plum out....with that, it rose beautifully, the flavor was soo good and I think I'd used Seasoned Panko bread crumbs next time!!! Other then that scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Made a low-fat version of this recipe. 1 egg, third of cheese/used edam, low fat plain yogurt & trim milk. Omitted sugar, salt & substituted low-fat margarine for butter. Added half a tsp nutmeg & used focaccia breadcrumbs over the top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This side dish turned out to be everyone’s most favorite dish of an elaborate meal. This is just heaven! I deviated somewhat from the original recipe by crushing onion & garlic croutons instead of the bland saltine crackers. I also made my own baking mix (1/2 cup flour; 0.75 teaspoons baking powder; 1/8 teaspoon salt; 1/2 tablespoon shortening, oil, or melted butter. First mix the dry ingredients then mix in the oil; mix well. You will have some extra baking mix).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This recipe is awesome. I am not a squash eater though I do love zucchini. However, I had some of both so I tried this recipe. I steamed the veggies in a microwave steamer for 7 minutes. No excess water that way and the veggies were nice and tender. The only other thing I did was to take some seasoned croutons and made crouton crumbs in the blender. I used those instead of the saltine cracker crumbs and bread crumbs. Otherwise followed the recipe to the letter. Served it with our meal with our friends last night. EVERYONE (including me)loved it. There was none leftover! Only problem with that is that it would have been nice to have had some leftovers for today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MWT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
The halved this recipe and used Italian bread crumbs. Loved this dish and will definitely make again when I get the veggies. Thanks for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Diamondhead, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I used what I had on hand to make this still only tweeking it a little. First I used 2 lbs of frozen thawed summer squash, unsalted, gluten free crackers, gluten free bisquick and home made gluten free bread crumbs. I added about a teaspoon of black pepper, I did forget the sugar but I think it tasted fine without it. Followed the directions otherwise. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Oh wow! I was looking for a good recipe for my fresh garden Zucchini. Everyone LOVED it! I didn't have squash but that was not a problem at all. I did use croutons as others suggested. I will definitely make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyhmn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kinston, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This casserole was delicious!!! I am freezing my extra squash to make this all winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Good but a little bland with saltines. The second time I made this I was doubling the recipe and went for more flavor. Used a 5 oz. pouch of seasoned croutons (Italian or Caesar OK), sharp cheddar (4 cups), 3 Tbsp. of lemon juice to balance the sweetness. Also added 2 sliced red Bell peppers for color. So the veggies would retain more flavor I steamed instead of boiling them. Didn't have a steamer so I just dumped half a drawer of silverware into the bottom of a Dutch oven and added 2 cups of water. Started with cold water do it took almost 30 min. over low heat to get all these vegetables tender. Used seasoned bread crumbs on top. Came out a little bread-y but the flavor was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Best squash and zucchini casserole ever made. Easy, fast and so delicious. Next time I make this; I plan on using 1/4 cup of softened butter and egg beaters egg substitute and low fat shredded cheese to cut down on fat and calories. I will be making this dish a lot this summer - we will have a big crop of zucchini from our garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States