Cheesy Squash and Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This side dish turned out to be everyone’s most favorite dish of an elaborate meal. This is just heaven! I deviated somewhat from the original recipe by crushing onion & garlic croutons instead of the bland saltine crackers. I also made my own baking mix (1/2 cup flour; 0.75 teaspoons baking powder; 1/8 teaspoon salt; 1/2 tablespoon shortening, oil, or melted butter. First mix the dry ingredients then mix in the oil; mix well. You will have some extra baking mix).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I found the Bisquick made this way too bready. It would have been much better with just the breadcrumbs and crackers. I used Ritz crackers and added some Parmesan cheese. I also sauteed the veggies rather than boiling them. I'll make it again without the Bisquick. I'm sure it'll be tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
The halved this recipe and used Italian bread crumbs. Loved this dish and will definitely make again when I get the veggies. Thanks for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Diamondhead, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This recipe is awesome. I am not a squash eater though I do love zucchini. However, I had some of both so I tried this recipe. I steamed the veggies in a microwave steamer for 7 minutes. No excess water that way and the veggies were nice and tender. The only other thing I did was to take some seasoned croutons and made crouton crumbs in the blender. I used those instead of the saltine cracker crumbs and bread crumbs. Otherwise followed the recipe to the letter. Served it with our meal with our friends last night. EVERYONE (including me)loved it. There was none leftover! Only problem with that is that it would have been nice to have had some leftovers for today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MWT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Awesome, but made without buttter, sugar, and baking mix. Also sautéed veggies! Delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I didn't care for it because it was mushy & soggy, but my husband and kids gobbled it up; that's why I give it four stars. If I make it again, I'll try sauteeing the veggies instead of boiling and add another egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Delicious and mostly healthy!:) The most imp't thing is my very "distinguishing" husband said of his own volition, "This is really good, a high quality dish." I skipped the bread mix and only added a 1/4 c. butter and followed everything else. I didn't have a square dish handy so i made it in a glass pie dish, came out great. Oh, I also cooked it on 375 for the first 15 minutes in the oven, then baked it on 325 for the remainder. This gave it a nice brown crisp on top. Yummmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I enjoyed this side dish. A couple things I did differently was added potatoes, and topped with croutons instead of breadcrumbs. This helped even out the softness of the rest of the dish. I think the recipe could have a few more seasonings like pepper and maybe some parsley and red pepper flakes. The recipe did not mention how think to cut the vegetables. I did mine very thin. If I made it again I would cut them a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I made this last night for an impromptu neighborhood cook-out. It was wonderful! Everyone loved it! It was so easy too, now I did make quite a few tweaks! I didn't have a lot of the ingredients it called for so I used what I had on hand, now I have a new easy and amazing recipe! I used all squash, (didn't have zucchini) So 2lb cut squash, I used 2cups,(the whole bag) of shredded cheddar cheese ,a box of cornbread dressing mix, 4 tsp sugar, a stick of melted butter, the 2 eggs,1tsp salt, and 1/2 onion-chopped, 1/2 cup half and half, i then mixed all this together in the casserole dish itself then covered with foil and baked it! Oh, I did sprinkle with bread crumbs before I baked it, but that probably isn't even needed! It turned out awesome! Bake at 325 for about 35 minutes. So so so good! And......also very important it is quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Horner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
OMG! I have an 18 year old girl that is on the path of being a chef. It is her dream. I tell you that because everything I make comes to scrutiny. My daughter Raved! Couldn't believe it! She will actually come home from friends houses when I tell her I made this. I stumbled on this recipe. Yay! It will be a fav for a long time to come. I will admit that the breadcrumbs on top are useless. They don't add flavor. They don't cook well. They don't add aesthetics. They don't hinder flavor though. I have experimented with differ crackers. I use Ritz. The have several differ flavors out. My fav accents to the dish are the vege flavor and the bacon flavor. All a matter of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blkcat118

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States