Cheesy Shrimp Meltaways Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
i have made a version of this for years - but with canned crab meat. definately use the 'old english' cheese - the 'wiz' will definately be too runny. the crab distributes more evenly with the cheese mixture as well.. be sure to rinse well to avoid being too salty. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Yummy and good for a luncheon entree if you leave the English muffins whole. Be sure and rinse the shrimp as well as drain them for a fresher, less salty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
Made these for a cookout yesterday. They were the hit of the party! Had to hurry and make another batch. Today, I'm printing out requested copies for my friends. Thanks Mel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
When I was a teenager I had a friend whose mom would make these for us when we would sleep over. I came to this sight looking for this recipe specifically. I used a name brand cheese spread when I made them and then tried a store brand. They were much better with the name brand. Thanks for bringing back a great taste and great memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
Reduced the number of servings so maybe the proportions were off but these were way too salty; I used regular shrimp instead of canned. The cheese sauce was just that soupy, cheese sauce and the toppings were falling off of the English muffin as I put the pieces on a plate. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
Everyone loves these. Great with crab as well. Freezes beautifully - just pull out of freezer and bake as needed. I use about 1/2 of the butter called for. The jars of "Old English" cheese work great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
Melt in your mouth good! I will definatley make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
Made them as an appetizer for a birthday dinner. They were loved by all. I think I might use slightly larger shrimps next time, and the time after that, and the time after that...........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
This is a very easy and quick appetizer. Great to make ahead of time and refrigerate or freeze for later use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
I was surprised at how well it turned out. Very tasty...gets a little rich. I recommend very small helpings. Makes SEVERAL servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Cooked on Pink Salt

See how to cook marinated shrimp on a hot slab of salt.

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States