Cheesy Shell Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Very Simple and very yummy. I did add garlic powder and Italian seasoning to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroliney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This is my go to "lasagna" recipe. My kids love it and it is very good when you follow it exactly or alter it slightly. The only problem I have is the size pan, you really need to use a rectangular cake pan that is deep enough to layer otherwise if you use a glass casserole dish you may end up with two casseroles and less layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Good recipes. You can add pretty much whatever you want to it. Only put in 1/2 the sour cream by accident and it still turned out pretty good. Makes alot and easier than lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Always a hit!!! A very easy version of Lasagna!! Will make again and again. Perfect ingredient list. But 8 slices provolone cheese was plenty. Definatly NOT bland if you season your meat right. Like all recipes, play around with it until you have it perfect to taste!! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oroville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
My husband loved it and it was so easy to make!! I will definitely make this again. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Perry, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I loved this recipe! I now make it all the time b/c most ingred. you always have on hand when your struggling to figure out what to make for dinner! I always use a whole box of large Barilla shell noodles and am a little more generous with the (Prego/mushroom) spaghetti sauce...likely closer to 2c. But turns out great. I have made with the slices of provolone but when your in a pinch - I've gone without. Oh - and I never use the low fat stuff (although I should). Tastes great - makes alot (dinner for 2 nights) and I'm very happy I found this recipe! Thanks Ms. Merchant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Ok. I just made this recipe and put it in the oven. I think someone made a mistake. 8 oz of pasta is definately not enough. Nor was the amount of sauce. I almost think that this recipe needs to be doubled all around. It was impossible to layer this dish. I'm a little scared that it said not to grease the pan with the plain noodles being on the bottom. I did add fresh sauteed baby bella mushrooms and a little sugar to the sauce (to cut the acidity). I think having sour cream and the provolone will be great. I'll try to remember to rate the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
this was really good! and not greasy at all, even with all that cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
This is a good basic recipe, but I thought it was way too bland. I will try it again and add my own seasonings, maybe basil, oregano, garlic to add some flavor. I used Emeril's Traditional Marinara sauce and I did use a 16 oz. package of pasta instead of the 8 oz. and the consistency of it was fine. I do think it's a dish kids would like, & will try it again when my grandkids come to visit. It was good, but I think it needs a little tweaking to your personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I am not sure I should rate this. I kind of just took inspiration from it because I didn't use the exact ingredients. I also halved it and it still made as much as I thought it would full recipe. I didn't know how much pasta weighs so I think I went a bit skimpy on the pasta using 2 cups dried. There wasn't enough to layer it but I think it works anyways. I also added a haf green pepper and half orange pepper because I needed to use them up. I don't have provolone cheese or mozzarella so I used a generous sprinkling of parmesean cheese and a light topping of about 1 cup grated medium cheddar (I didn't want to use the rest of my cheese). This is just amazing, I will make this weekly! Leftovers are delicious the next day. This hasn't lasted long and I will make the full recipe next time and freeze half. I will be aiming to have a few frozen before my new baby comes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States