Cheesy Sausage Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Yummy! I was leary of this because of the processed cheese but it was GREAT! I changed a few things because I needed to use up things from my garden: used ground turkey, omit the oregano and substituted grill seasoning, no mushrooms, added 5 minced bananna peppers, 1 red pepper, and 2T minced garlic (we are garlic lovers). I only baked for 15 min because that's all it really needed to melt the cheese and make it creamy. Also, I avoided an extra clean up step by baking it in my skillet (make sure your skillet is oven safe). Husband couldn't get enough and I loved it. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Poloncak

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Excellant dish! Easy to make. Only suggestions I would give is less sausage and cheese. My family loves both but these were a little overpowering to the veggies. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Stanton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Great recipe but I made a few tweaks. Definately needed to double the rice. I didn't have velveeta on hand so I used 4 slices of american cheese and 2 cups of a cheese blend (montery jack, chedder, asadero) and a 1/2 cup of milk. I used a can of tomatoes because our tomato plants haven't produced red tomatoes yet. My 8 and 11 yr olds both loved it and my hubby did too...excellent in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I thought the base for this recipe was great. I wanted to use up some zucchini and squash I had and wanted a hearty recipe (no way I was going to eat them plain). Some changes: tripled the amount of rice (may have been a tad too much) used about 2 minced cloves of garlic instead of onion, used turkey kielbasa instead of ground sausage, shredded mild cheddar instead of processed cheese, doubled the mushrooms (I love them!) and used a can of diced tomatoes (with juice) instead of fresh tomatoes. I really liked it, especially the flavor pop of the tomatoes. ETA: The oregeno is key to this tasting great. I definitely put more than a pinch in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
My husband loved it and the only change i made was to double the rice, I'm a rice-a-holic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This was very good but I used "real" cheese (cheddar) and didn't add tomatoes or mushrooms. I also added cracker crumbs to the top so it would look a little more appetizing. A new favorite that I'm making for dinner tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Used Rotini pasta instead of Rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was very pleasing. Yum! I made a couple of substitutions. I used Italian sausage instead of pork and yellow squash instead of zucchini. We will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I was on the fence about this recipe but I had the ingredients on hand so I decided to give it a whirl. All three of my kids loved it so it gets five stars from me! I made it with pasta (no rice on hand). I used fresh mushrooms and two cans of diced tomatoes with basil and garlic. I didn't have velvetta so I used a cup of Monterrey Jack and a cup of cheddar. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANANICOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Sarajevo, Federation Of Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bosnia And Herzegovina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I made lots of substitutions (green tomatoes, hot italian sausage, delicata squash instead of zucchini, a feta/cheddar mix instead of processed) and this turned out great - it outlines a good basic method for making casseroles. You can use any grain (or pasta), any veg, any herbs/spices and any cheese (as long as all the flavours work together, of course!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States