Cheesy Sausage Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This was such a flavorful casserole! I actually used orzo pasta instead of the rice and added a small can of tomato sauce to keep it moist! Everyone loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whino247

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This was pretty good. Added some power greens, garlic and a little red sauce to keep it from being dry. Also used real cheese, fresh mushrooms, and sprinkled some bread crumbs on top. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
My family did not enjoy this dish. It was bland and the processed cheese left a funny taste and film in our mouths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Really liked this recipe...it's one of those that you can change things up if you want and it still works. I didn't have any fresh tomatoes on hand, so I used a can of diced tomatoes. Also, I needed to speed things up so I used some leftover couscous (instead of rice) and used Jimmy Dean turkey sausage crumbles in place of the sausage. Ate with tortilla chips. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I have to give this 5 stars because my kids ate it and loved it! I can't get them to eat zucchini any other way. My husband loves it too and he is a vegetable aficionado. We grow our own and he hates the fact that the kids won't eat them. Now they do! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
A new household favorite! I added more of everything, used real cheese and eliminated the mushroom... so easy to make and everybody eats without complaining... can't go wrong with that combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This recipe is awesome! I am not a "squishy" veggie eater - I like my veggies raw for the most part, but I had fresh zucchini given to me and this sounded good. On the advice of other reviewers, I also substituted out the processed cheese for 2 cups of sharp cheddar cheese and doubled the rice. I also increased the onion and tomato portions to balance the zucchini since I used more than the recipe called for. I added about 1/4 cup of roasted garlic (I think I will use fresh next time as this did not make a whole lot of difference in taste). I used fresh mushrooms and Jimmy Dean Breakfast Sausage, Sage flavor. To top it off, I put a Mexican blend cheese on top with Panko bread crumbs. There was very little leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Great recipe to use up some zucchini! I excluded the mushrooms as my husband does not like them, and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Used sage sausage - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleag05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
My family usually doesn't like my recipes from the internet, but this one was a huge hit !!! I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned, added fresh green pepper and garlic to the zucchini, and added shredded cheddar to the velveeta. The only other thing that I did different was use 1 cup of whole grain rice. It is a recipe that we will be making for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trenton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States