Cheesy Sausage Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
We loved this casserole. I followed the recipe to the "T", except for using Italian Sausages, cooked and cubed, approx. 4, because I doubled the recipe). I thought the prep time was a bit long, but it usually takes me longer the first time anyway. Next time I make rice (I used brown), I'll cook up plenty of extra, then freeze for future use in recipes like this. No leftovers at our table. Praise God!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
This dish wasn't very appealing to the eye when it came out of the oven... but man it was sooooooo good. It did take quite a bit of time to prepare, though. This recipe made a lot, we had leftovers for a week. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
This dish is absolutely wonderful! I used spicy Italian pork sausage, 1 cup of cooked pasta instead of the rice, and sharp cheddar cheese instead of the processed cheese. So good served with cheddar garlic biscuits and a nice Shiraz. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suemck
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I love this casserole (although Mr. suemck isn't a huge fan) and make it often in the summer when our neighbor gives out garden fresh veggies. Cheesy and delicious! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
This is one of my favorite casserole recipes. Very good, thank you for sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This recipe was pretty good. I made it with turkey sausage and I left out the mushrooms, because I did not happen to have any on hand. I also added garlic and green pepper to compensate for not having mushrooms. I used only half of the cheese because that is all I had also. I think it was fine with less cheese. Next time I would probably bake it in a smaller dish or for less time because the top got a bit crusty and dry. But overall this was a good recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
Wonderful Dish!! No left overs and we loved this. We will definately be making this again. I used hot turkey sausage and I also added minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
This recipe is a keeper. The first time I made this, I doubled the rice (after reading other reviews). Too dry! The second time, I followed the recipe (omitted the mushrooms)and it was perfect. My picky 14 month old son loves it, and so do the rest of us. Thanks for the addition to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
Absolutely delicious! My prep time was definitely more than 30 minutes, even with my daughter's help (although probably due to my substitutions), but well worth the effort. I used part sweet, part hot turkey sausage, lots of minced fresh garlic cooked with the sausage & onion, fresh mushrooms (added with zucchini & tomatoes). I used brown rice, doubled the amount as per others' suggestions, and lots more than a pinch of oregano. I also followed another reviewer's suggestion to remove the mixture with a slotted spoon and allow the liquid to reduce. Per my family's tastes, I used a mixture of shredded parmesan and mozzarella in place of the processed cheese, then topped with more shredded mozz. Only needed about 30 to 40 minutes in the oven. Everyone raved! Thanks Mandy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I didn't want to try this recipe, but I had all the ingredents on hand. I followed some suggestions, also posted here, like using a spicy Italian sausage instead of using plain, and added other herbs, garlic, salt and pepper. I found the recipies was too big for my pan, by the time I needed to add the rice, cheese and mushrooms, so I used a mixing bowl. I also recommend using a slotted spoon to remove the zucchini mixture as the zucchini and tomato sweat a lot and reducing the 2 cups of liquid that remained in the pan, until it is about 1/2 cup of beautiful flavour. I also made a breadcrumb topping with just 1/4 cup of cheese added. This one is a winner!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States