Cheesy Sausage Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by ashleynicole
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This is really really good. I changed just a few things. I used 1/2 cup chopped onion instead of 1/4. I used seasoned italian sausage instead of just plain sausage. I never added the rice. Just cooked the rice seperate and used the sausage mixture as a topping for the rice. I springled the sausage mixture w/ garlic salt and flakes in addition to the salt and pepper and then baked in a 9x13 as stated then sprinkled it w/ a full bag of shredded cheddar cheese and only baked for about 30 min since everythings already cooked. Several people have said to leave out the processed cheese which I think is not a good idea. The processed cheese helps solidify the mixture and 8oz is such a small amount to even make a dent in taste, if anything just makes it a little cheesier thicker and better. Next time I might even add 4oz more of the prossed cheese. And then I might just take the whole sausage mixture and mix it w/ spaghetti sauce and serve it over noodles instead of rice. Anyway great idea for a recipe. Uses my 3 favorite vegetables and I love sausage so thats why I made this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Unexpected taste. It was fresh, garden-y and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TILO0002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hibbing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Left out the veggies to due personal preference. We thought it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This casserole was great. I too added more rice and used shredded cheese. Also used canned diced tomatoes with green chilies. It came out perfect. I hoped we would have enough for dinner the next night (since it is just me and hubby) but I was wrong. He had two huge helpings for dinner and even had some for breakfast and lunch the next day. This is now one of his favorites. Next time I will double it. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This is a great dish! For the cheese though, I used sreaded sharp cheddar. Our family ate this weekly during the summer when are garden was full of zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
So tasty!! Would not imagine these ingredients together, but the results were excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Yummy. Younger kid enjoyed it, while the picky one didn't. But mom did, and that is all that matters. I was out of tomatoes, so I used a small can of tomato sauce. Using the sauce, I did not have to worry about cooking down the liquid before baking. Easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaChef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I made this recipe as written and it was awesome. My kids loved it as well. I used Sweet Italian Sausage and the 2% milk Velveeta and was generous with the tomatoes. I will definitly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
My boyfriend and I absolutely love this recipe!! It's the perfect summer recipe. We use fresh tomatoes and zucchini from the garden, along with wild boar sausage that my dad hunts. I used a combination of green and yellow zucchini. I also used 2 different kinds of wild boar sausage and a variety of shredded cheese. We have already made this recipe twice within the last few weeks. Great recipe!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeepgirl003

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
My DH loved this. He thought it may be just "ok" but said it was great, even my 3 & 4 YO boys liked it. The only change I made was to add a little minced garlic and used 2C shredded sharp cheddar as per other reviews. Thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States