Cheesy Sausage Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This is just plain good. Not fancy, but super comforting and delicious. I doubled the rice and used a jar of salsa in lieu of the fresh tomatoes. I also used a roll of breakfast sausage and it was perfect. I am eating the leftovers for lunch and it's just as good as it was last night for dinner. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Loved this recipe, i made it with rotini noodles instead of rice and 2 cans of stewed tomatoes. I also used shredded cojack in place of the process cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TDL
Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Yummy! I was leary of this because of the processed cheese but it was GREAT! I changed a few things because I needed to use up things from my garden: used ground turkey, omit the oregano and substituted grill seasoning, no mushrooms, added 5 minced bananna peppers, 1 red pepper, and 2T minced garlic (we are garlic lovers). I only baked for 15 min because that's all it really needed to melt the cheese and make it creamy. Also, I avoided an extra clean up step by baking it in my skillet (make sure your skillet is oven safe). Husband couldn't get enough and I loved it. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Excellant dish! Easy to make. Only suggestions I would give is less sausage and cheese. My family loves both but these were a little overpowering to the veggies. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Stanton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Great recipe but I made a few tweaks. Definately needed to double the rice. I didn't have velveeta on hand so I used 4 slices of american cheese and 2 cups of a cheese blend (montery jack, chedder, asadero) and a 1/2 cup of milk. I used a can of tomatoes because our tomato plants haven't produced red tomatoes yet. My 8 and 11 yr olds both loved it and my hubby did too...excellent in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I thought the base for this recipe was great. I wanted to use up some zucchini and squash I had and wanted a hearty recipe (no way I was going to eat them plain). Some changes: tripled the amount of rice (may have been a tad too much) used about 2 minced cloves of garlic instead of onion, used turkey kielbasa instead of ground sausage, shredded mild cheddar instead of processed cheese, doubled the mushrooms (I love them!) and used a can of diced tomatoes (with juice) instead of fresh tomatoes. I really liked it, especially the flavor pop of the tomatoes. ETA: The oregeno is key to this tasting great. I definitely put more than a pinch in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
My husband loved it and the only change i made was to double the rice, I'm a rice-a-holic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This was very good but I used "real" cheese (cheddar) and didn't add tomatoes or mushrooms. I also added cracker crumbs to the top so it would look a little more appetizing. A new favorite that I'm making for dinner tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Used Rotini pasta instead of Rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was very pleasing. Yum! I made a couple of substitutions. I used Italian sausage instead of pork and yellow squash instead of zucchini. We will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States