Cheesy Sausage Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I thought this was good, but not great. Like others, I used real cheese (fresh mozzarella) instead of processed cheese. I also used fresh mushrooms instead of canned, orzo instead of rice (and I added more than what is called for), and half a red bell pepper since I happened to have it in my fridge. It might be better after it has sat in the fridge overnight... we'll see. Not bad, but it didn't take my breath away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This was really good, I did change a few things, per other's suggestions. I doubled the rice (and added more water) and used Jasmine rice b/c that's what we had. Used a can of diced tomatoes, added garlic, basil, oregano and shredded cheddar instead of processed cheese. Added some panko w/a couple of squirts of butter spray over the casserole when putting in oven. Baked for 40 minutes then 1& 1/2 minutes on broil to brown top. It was great and my 2 year old niece even loved it as did my the rest of my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Perhaps one of my new favorites -- definitely going to become a staple in our house! The only change I made to the directions was to only bake for 40 minutes and that seemed like plenty to us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Fabulous casserole! You can use a ton of squash from your garden that you keep trying to get the neighbors to take! My kids had thirds of this recipe. I used canned tomatoes and I didn't bake it at the end. My mom made it exactly like the instructions and we both liked the changes I made better. Baking it makes the zucchini too mushy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This was really yummy! I hate to rate it 5 and say I made changes, but I think it would have been good as written too. We don't like canned mushrooms, so I used fresh and I used 2 cups grated cheddar because we don't do processed cheese. It's definitely a keeper no matter if you make it the way it's written or my way! :-) YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I made this exactly as it was written and it turned out great! My husband loved it. I will definitely be marking as one of our favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
My zuk and tomatoes from the garden are crazy so with that said I am constantly trying new things to use them up. This was perfect, with a few changes. 1st I didnt read through the whole recipe, like you should, before I started and when I saw 1hr cook time I decided to let it sit in the fridge and make the next night since I was short on time. I used ground Italian Turkey and mixed that with the zuk and tomatoes it was watery but was not the next night. Added some different seasonings per taste and then the next night through in a bag of Birdsey frozen brown rice put some mozarella in then on top with parmeson and more mozarella and a bit of cheddar. I cannot stand processed cheese! I did not measure but didnt use alot. It was pefect loved! Hubby thought a bit bland so added some salt, my 4yr old ate but protested (he does with everything) my 6 year old liked. Definately a keeper and next time might experiment a bit more with some seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenifer Murrweiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
All I can say is awesome recipe!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
So tasty and fresh! Used about 8 oz fresh mushrooms and added some minced garlic as well. Threw in some green pepper I had on hand. Also increased the rice to 1 cup and I used brown rice. Used some leftover mozzarella melted on top. Delicious! A new favorite at my house! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VariableVeracity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
My husband and I loved this dish! I only used 1/3 lb. of chicken Italian sausage because I prefer less meat, it was perfect. Also, I love basil so I added quite a bit of that. We'll be having this regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by v-house

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States