Cheesy Sausage Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I used Italian sausage with red peppers and spices, one can of drained stewed tomatoes, 1oz of American cheese 1 oz sharp cheddar cheese season salt, Italian spices and Cajun spice, topped with grated Parmesan cheese. My children hate vegetables ,,, my son asked for seconds. great dinner. Enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Lou
Home Town: Pine Plains, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I make this with whole wheat spiral pasta which adds a nice texture. This is an excellent recipe for a novice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I used brown rice and shredded cheese - it was easy, tasted great. It only needed about 30 minutes oven time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
My family loved this. I made a few changes... turkey sausage instead of pork and canned tomatoes (drained) instead of fresh I also used cooked pasta instead of rice and reduced to cooking time to about 35-40 minutes. Yummy! And yes... I used Velvetta and it was so creamy and tasty and I'm not a Velvetta fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
My family loved this! I made just a few modifications...used brown rice, italian-spiced ground turkey instead of the sausage, and 3/4 cup of reduced fat cheddar. We're on Weight Watchers so this helped make it a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
As with many others, I substituted fresh mushrooms, extra amount of sharp cheddar cheese rather than processed, doubled the amount of rice, added a bit of basil, only baked 30 minutes - easy to prepare, tasty, nice consistency - especially liked being able to prepare in morning & simply pop into oven 1/2 hour before dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I thought this was good, but not great. Like others, I used real cheese (fresh mozzarella) instead of processed cheese. I also used fresh mushrooms instead of canned, orzo instead of rice (and I added more than what is called for), and half a red bell pepper since I happened to have it in my fridge. It might be better after it has sat in the fridge overnight... we'll see. Not bad, but it didn't take my breath away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This was really good, I did change a few things, per other's suggestions. I doubled the rice (and added more water) and used Jasmine rice b/c that's what we had. Used a can of diced tomatoes, added garlic, basil, oregano and shredded cheddar instead of processed cheese. Added some panko w/a couple of squirts of butter spray over the casserole when putting in oven. Baked for 40 minutes then 1& 1/2 minutes on broil to brown top. It was great and my 2 year old niece even loved it as did my the rest of my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Perhaps one of my new favorites -- definitely going to become a staple in our house! The only change I made to the directions was to only bake for 40 minutes and that seemed like plenty to us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Fabulous casserole! You can use a ton of squash from your garden that you keep trying to get the neighbors to take! My kids had thirds of this recipe. I used canned tomatoes and I didn't bake it at the end. My mom made it exactly like the instructions and we both liked the changes I made better. Baking it makes the zucchini too mushy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States