Cheesy Sausage Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I enjoyed this casserole very much. I substituted brown rice for white, and hot turkey sausage for the pork sausage. I cooked 3 chopped cloves of garlic with the sausage. I did not find a need to drain the mixture before baking. If anything, it was a little dry. I think it depends on how watery your tomatoes are. Mine was very ripe and meaty. I will definitely make this casserole again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Very good! I would add more tomatoes and squash, but otherwise a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Love this recipe!!! I added diced green bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Foxfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This turned out really well! I used some elbow macaroni instead of rice, but I had everything else and it was delicious. I think next time I would consider making a cream cheese based white sauce instead of the processed cheese. A very good recipe and a great way to use up pthose tomatoes and zucchini (or summer squash in my case) in the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Used this recipe with the first of the season zucchini and it was terrific! Changes -- used about 4 links of sweet sausage {casings removed and broken up), 1 can of drained diced tomatoes, about 1 c. of fresh sliced mushrooms and a mix of different cheeses (some cheddar and mozzarella/italian shredded cheeses). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
EXCELLENT Recipe. Came out even better than I thought it would...but I (of course) made a few changes. First, I used Italian Sausage instead of regular pork sausage...it gave it a great Mediterranean flavor. Then instead of diced fresh tomato, I added a can of drained fire roasted tomatoes. I used 10 oz. of fresh portabella mushrooms instead of canned, and then cooked the meat mixture until most of the liquid had cooked off. Then I used an Italian blend cheese (mozarella, parmasan, romano, etc.) instead of the processed cheese food, reserving a little to sprinkle on top. I served it with pita bread and a salad. OMG was it good! This is definitely a keeper! Thank you Mandy! Mmmmmmmm.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Shawhan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I really liked this one. I made it as written except less baking time, I was too hungry to wait. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Like other reviewers said, it's a basic recipe that needs more seasoning/zip. I used 1/2 can of diced tomatoes because that's what I had on hand and 4-cheese mexican blend. Also used instant brown rice to make it quicker, baked it at 350 degrees for 25 minutes and it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefAMY
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This was yummy. I sauted fresh mushrooms, used hamburger, and added 2 cloves of garlic. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I omitted the tomatoes for personal taste, but otherwise very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States