Cheesy Sausage Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Good. Would make more often if I didn't feel guilty about cooking with velveeta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I made several changes after reading the reviews. First, I substituted chicken sausage, added garlic and pepper flakes. I also doubled the rice and used fresh mushrooms. Since I am not a fan of processed cheese, I used 8 oz mild cheddar. My sausage was fully cooked so I decreased the baking time to 40 mins and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I added a lot of extra spices to this recipe, but as a base recipe it was good. I sauteed fresh mushrooms, onions, & garlic in some olive oil for 5 minutes and then added the zucchini and seasonings (italian seasoning, cayenne pepper, black pepper, and some basil). Then I added the sausage (already cooked, leftover from biscuits & gravy), cheese, a drained can of italian stewed tomatoes and rice. I should have doubled my rice because my mixture turned out a bit soupy so I just served it in a bowl with flatbread. I made it all in one pot and didn't bake it because we were short on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This dish is wonderful. Made this twice in 3 days at the request of my husband. Had hoped to freeze leftovers but there weren't any and there are only the 2 of us eating it! Only changes were using equal amounts of mozzarella and cheddar rather than processed cheese, upped the amount of rice and no onion (allergic). Must stock up on zucchini so that it can be made during the winter months. A new comfort food. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Nice and hearty for my husband and son. I used hamburger instead of sausage and omitted the mushrooms. I took the others' suggestions and added cheddar. I also only baked it for 1/2 hour, just enough to heat through because I prefer my zucchini slightly firm. I also used twice the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This was such a flavorful casserole! I actually used orzo pasta instead of the rice and added a small can of tomato sauce to keep it moist! Everyone loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whino247

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This was pretty good. Added some power greens, garlic and a little red sauce to keep it from being dry. Also used real cheese, fresh mushrooms, and sprinkled some bread crumbs on top. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
My family did not enjoy this dish. It was bland and the processed cheese left a funny taste and film in our mouths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Really liked this recipe...it's one of those that you can change things up if you want and it still works. I didn't have any fresh tomatoes on hand, so I used a can of diced tomatoes. Also, I needed to speed things up so I used some leftover couscous (instead of rice) and used Jimmy Dean turkey sausage crumbles in place of the sausage. Ate with tortilla chips. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I have to give this 5 stars because my kids ate it and loved it! I can't get them to eat zucchini any other way. My husband loves it too and he is a vegetable aficionado. We grow our own and he hates the fact that the kids won't eat them. Now they do! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States