Cheesy Sausage Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
A terrific combination of ingredients, but a recipe that did allow for a little room for changes: I substituted the pork sausage, for boneless pork chops, as the bottom layer of the casserole dish; and as I'm not a fan of processed cheese, I used cubed provolone and Monterey jack, instead, with a little shredded provolone on top. Otherwise it was as is in the recipe, a great way to cook with ingredients from my garden, and a fantastic addition to my recipe box! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WestCoast Frog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
I used what I had on hand and used some of the other reviewers suggestions: Boca sausage, a package of white and wild grain rice, 28 oz. italian canned tomatoes, a red bell pepper, 2 yellow squash and 2 zucchini, and a mixture of low-fat mozzarella and asiago, romano, and parmesan because that's what I had in the refrig. I cooked it in the slow cooker because I had errands. I think I will use the low-fat turkey sausage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
I will make this recipe again. My husband and children enjoyed it very much. It's hard to please all of them at the same time. Plus it was something new to do with all the zucchinni we have from our garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
I made this recipe for a friend of mine who had just had a baby. I halved the recipe and fed both her family and mine. She and I both agreed this was a very "manly" recipe. Our husbands enjoyed the casserole, but we both thought it was just okay. Not disgusting but nothing we would cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
YUMMY! We loved this. The recipe didn't say whether to remove the sausage from the casing so I just sliced mine up after frying it a bit. I used Mexican style Velveeta, and it turned out a little spicy, but delicious. I also used about twice as much rice as the recipe called for as we are big rice lovers. It turned out wonderful. The only thing I would change was my own fault; I used one sausage that was 'hot' and two that were 'mild' next time I will just stick with the 'mild' ones. Thanks for the excellent dish, this is a definite keeper in my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
This was awesome! We added 1 1/2 cups of rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
This is great. I did used 1 cup of rice and shredded cheddar cheese. Even my "I will never Zucchini" daughter ate it and liked it. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
When I served this to my husband he said that it looked quite boring, but when he tried it he said that it was awesome. I didn't have processed cheese so I used 1/2 cup cream cheese for a creamy texture and 1/2 cup old cheddar for taste. Since I like things a bit spicy, but only had regular pork sausage, I added a bit of dried red pepper flakes to the meat before cooking. This was a great recipe and now I have another use for all the zucchini in my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
This recipe is great as is, I used long-grain basmati white rice and Bob Evans brand regular ground sausage. My husband and teen daughters loved this, ate every drop and requested it a second time in the same week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
This was very good. The first time I made it with hot italian sausage and it was too spicy. The second time I made it with regular italian sausage and it was great. I did use 1 cup of rice per other suggestions. Also, be careful not to overcook zucchini. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States