Cheesy Sausage Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
So tasty and fresh! Used about 8 oz fresh mushrooms and added some minced garlic as well. Threw in some green pepper I had on hand. Also increased the rice to 1 cup and I used brown rice. Used some leftover mozzarella melted on top. Delicious! A new favorite at my house! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VariableVeracity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
My husband and I loved this dish! I only used 1/3 lb. of chicken Italian sausage because I prefer less meat, it was perfect. Also, I love basil so I added quite a bit of that. We'll be having this regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by v-house

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This was very good. I usually don't change recipes I find on here but I did not have some of the ingredients needed. I used ground turkey in place of the sausage and spanish rice [seasoned with the mix in the box]in place of the white rice. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Very good! Prep work is a little time consuming with the chopping and pre-cooking of veg., sausage, and rice. I used yellow squash from my garden and a can of cheddar cheese soup...all I had. I did add bread crumbs drizzled with butter on top which really added something extra. Turned out great. I always make enough to freeze. It reheats wonderfully. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This is really good! Of course, I changed it up a bit. We had Italian sausage on hand and no mushrooms. A little yellow summer squash added in too. Wonderful! Oh, I also used Monterey Jack and Cheddar cheeses. My picky 1 1/2 yr old LOVED it! Thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I made some minor changes (ie turkey sausage), but this is one of my new favorite dishes. My mouth is watering just thinking about how good it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
This was pretty yummy. I didn't change much except doubling the rice and using shredded sharp cheddar. I also used italian seasoning instead of oregano. I undercooked the rice just slightly so that it could soak up any excess moisture from the tomatoes and zuchinni and let it bake in the oven for the full hour. Tasty and filling! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Pretty good. One thing I messed up - When the cheese was cubed, 8 oz didn't seem like enough, so I put in 16. Big mistake! 8 oz. would have been perfect, mine tasted too processed and was too cheesy. In an effort to make it healthier, I used Italian turkey sausage, fresh mushrooms and 2% velveeta. I made a topping with quarter cup bread crumbs mixed with some light margarine. Next Time I will use a whole onion and add a couple yellow squashes. Couldn't hurt to have twice the veggies since they cook way down when they are sauteed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrisMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Even got the kids to try it!! Made a few changes. I doubled the rice and used 1/2 brown. Added Sazon seasoning from Goya to that. In a pan I sauteed onion and garlic and added tomatoes. Then I substituted broccoli (didn't have zucchini in the house!!)and cut up some fresh mushrooms really small (kids again). Threw in veggi chorizo and used both fresh chedder and the mexican velveeta (about half). To be honost, I had bought the velveeta at a buy one get one free (hadn't tasted it in years) and was thrilled to find a recipe to use it since I discovered I no longer liked it. It was GREAT in this recipe. I really suggest keeping it in. I put the rice layer on the bottom, and put the chorizo layer on top of that in the casserole dish rather than mixing it all together. I added the fresh cheese on top and baked for like 15-20 minutes (until the cheese melted and I could get everyone at the table). It was fantastic. Even better the next day. This recipe inspired me to plant some zucchini's in the garden the next day. Can't wait to try it out with them. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4Thoughts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashleynicole
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This is really really good. I changed just a few things. I used 1/2 cup chopped onion instead of 1/4. I used seasoned italian sausage instead of just plain sausage. I never added the rice. Just cooked the rice seperate and used the sausage mixture as a topping for the rice. I springled the sausage mixture w/ garlic salt and flakes in addition to the salt and pepper and then baked in a 9x13 as stated then sprinkled it w/ a full bag of shredded cheddar cheese and only baked for about 30 min since everythings already cooked. Several people have said to leave out the processed cheese which I think is not a good idea. The processed cheese helps solidify the mixture and 8oz is such a small amount to even make a dent in taste, if anything just makes it a little cheesier thicker and better. Next time I might even add 4oz more of the prossed cheese. And then I might just take the whole sausage mixture and mix it w/ spaghetti sauce and serve it over noodles instead of rice. Anyway great idea for a recipe. Uses my 3 favorite vegetables and I love sausage so thats why I made this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States