Cheesy Sausage Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Danita Hamel
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This was a big hit in my household! My two finicky boys even liked it! I substituted the processed cheese with shredded cheddar cheese in that I don't care for the taste of processed cheese. This will be a dish I will make over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I made this on the stove top hamburger helper sytle, skipped baking in the oven to make it a faster dish to prepare. Just cooked long enough for the zucchini to soften a bit then added the rice and cheese. Also added diced bell pepper and sliced fresh mushrooms instead of canned. This is a great recipe to use all of those zucchinis, peppers, onions and tomatoes from your summer garden! Kid tested and approved even with all the veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbara's recipes
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I used green pepper instead of onions, and shredded the zucchini instead of diced. Also used orzo instead of rice. On stove top. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
My whole family loved this! I followed others advice and doubled the rice and used 2 cups of shredded cheddar. Next time I will have to double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Very very good. I used fresh mushrooms and the mozzarella / Parmesan variation of a recent reviewer. I also added some garlic with the onion. I cut the amount of sausage in half ( cooked a pound with the onions and garlic, then removed half of the mix from the pan for another dinner, I do this so I can buy yummy organic turkey sausage, which is a bit pricey). I didn't cook the zuke until it was soft, just until it pierced smoothly; I think that is why I didn't have the liquid some folks mentioned. I did bake it, but only for about 20 minutes, the zuke still had form but was soft. I will definitely make this again, love those casseroles with lots of veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
This was simply not good at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Cut down to the small package of sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Love this recipe. Easy to make and very tasty. I use sharp cheddar instead of the processed cheese. Be sure to use a good quality sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Good. Would make more often if I didn't feel guilty about cooking with velveeta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I made several changes after reading the reviews. First, I substituted chicken sausage, added garlic and pepper flakes. I also doubled the rice and used fresh mushrooms. Since I am not a fan of processed cheese, I used 8 oz mild cheddar. My sausage was fully cooked so I decreased the baking time to 40 mins and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States