Cheesy Sausage Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Barbara's recipes
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I used green pepper instead of onions, and shredded the zucchini instead of diced. Also used orzo instead of rice. On stove top. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
My whole family loved this! I followed others advice and doubled the rice and used 2 cups of shredded cheddar. Next time I will have to double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Very very good. I used fresh mushrooms and the mozzarella / Parmesan variation of a recent reviewer. I also added some garlic with the onion. I cut the amount of sausage in half ( cooked a pound with the onions and garlic, then removed half of the mix from the pan for another dinner, I do this so I can buy yummy organic turkey sausage, which is a bit pricey). I didn't cook the zuke until it was soft, just until it pierced smoothly; I think that is why I didn't have the liquid some folks mentioned. I did bake it, but only for about 20 minutes, the zuke still had form but was soft. I will definitely make this again, love those casseroles with lots of veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
This was simply not good at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Cut down to the small package of sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Love this recipe. Easy to make and very tasty. I use sharp cheddar instead of the processed cheese. Be sure to use a good quality sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Good. Would make more often if I didn't feel guilty about cooking with velveeta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I made several changes after reading the reviews. First, I substituted chicken sausage, added garlic and pepper flakes. I also doubled the rice and used fresh mushrooms. Since I am not a fan of processed cheese, I used 8 oz mild cheddar. My sausage was fully cooked so I decreased the baking time to 40 mins and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I added a lot of extra spices to this recipe, but as a base recipe it was good. I sauteed fresh mushrooms, onions, & garlic in some olive oil for 5 minutes and then added the zucchini and seasonings (italian seasoning, cayenne pepper, black pepper, and some basil). Then I added the sausage (already cooked, leftover from biscuits & gravy), cheese, a drained can of italian stewed tomatoes and rice. I should have doubled my rice because my mixture turned out a bit soupy so I just served it in a bowl with flatbread. I made it all in one pot and didn't bake it because we were short on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This dish is wonderful. Made this twice in 3 days at the request of my husband. Had hoped to freeze leftovers but there weren't any and there are only the 2 of us eating it! Only changes were using equal amounts of mozzarella and cheddar rather than processed cheese, upped the amount of rice and no onion (allergic). Must stock up on zucchini so that it can be made during the winter months. A new comfort food. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States