Cheesy Ranch Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
AWESOME! I made this for the first time for a pot luck at work. I made a few changes based on previous suggestions that were submitted. I used seasoned salt instead of regular salt. I used only 2TBS of lite melted butter (6 is way too much). Melted butter works better because it's easier to mix the seasonings in with the potatoes. I baked the potatoes for an hour the night before. The next day at work, I put the potatos in a crock pot, added the cheese, Ranch dressing, garlic and bacon pieces and cooked on low for 3 hours to melt the chesse. By lunch time it was all ready and it turned out perfect! I had A LOT of people ask for the recipe. It was the first dish to be completely eaten! And the best part was it was so easy to make!! The hardest part was cutting all the potatoes. I will denfinately be making this many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
500 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
I'm begging anyone that is about to make this recipe to please please please exclude the 6 tbsp of butter!!! I just spooned over 2/3 cup of grease out of the pan. This could be a wonderful comfort dish with a great melding of flavours but the butter is totally unnecessary! I gave it 4 stars cuz I will make it again, just no butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
410 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Delicious and easy--you will not be disappointed! After reading several reviews with tweaking suggestions, here is what I did to produce the delectable result: I cubed red potatoes, leaving the skin on. I cut the butter amount by 1/3, and sautéed 1/2 cup chopped onion in it until softened. I then added the seasonings, and poured the mixture over the potatoes in the casserole dish, tossing to coat. After baking, I added 1/4 real bacon bits, along with the cheese and dressing, to the potatoes. The dish accompanied charcoal grilled hamburgers--a VERY tasty meal! I will definitely make this potato dish again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
316 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
Looking for another potato bake, I decided to give this one a go. For extra taste, I added sauteed leeks and bacon at the point of adding the cheese and ranch dressing. Although this dish was very tasty, I found that the butter made the dish extremely greasy. I felt that spraying the baking dish lightly with oil would have been adequate, and that the butter was really quite unnecessary. I made the dish a second time, completely omitting the butter, it was definitely less greasy, hence a much healthier potato bake. The chilli powder gives this dish a bit of oomph and was a great addition. I will definitely make my version of this dish again. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
WOW! This are great! My husband goes crazy for them every time I make them. I cut the recipe down to 4 servings & used: 1 1/4 lb potatoes, 1/2 t chili powder, 1/4 t salt, 1/8 t pepper. 1/3 C cheese, 1/3 C Ranch & no butter I just sprayed the pan with cooking spray. Very delicious. I make this with BBQ pork. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I've made this dish numerous times now and like to tweak it a bit here and there. I usually cut the chili powder and butter in half, use mild cheddar instead of Monterey Jack and add some season-all, celery salt, garlic and paprika. Also good to add: sliced leek, chives or green onions. Lastly, we prefer Ken's Ranch over Hidden Valley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Husband and I loved this dish, my picky 10 year old didn't, but I'm not sure if he actually tried it or just looked at and decided (which he does quite often). I did change one thing, instead of using butter, I mixed the potatoes and seasonings in a ziplok bag with olive oil - I wanted to make it a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I cut this recipe in half. I used organic red potatoes and instead of bottled ranch dressing, I used my own homemade out of scratch dry ranch dressing mix mixed with a third cup each of lowfat mayonnaise, reduced fat sour cream and fat free plain yogurt. We thought this was good but we all agreed that it would have been better had the potatoes been mashed with the butter and ranch dressing, then spread into a baking dish with the cheese on top. I think it could use a little more spice, too. Maybe some chopped chives?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MDMCQUEEN
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This dish was awesome, and I will definitely make it again. Other than the tedious chore of peeling and cutting potatoes, prep was easy and the cooking times were accurate. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by apedawn
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Soooooo good!!!Used a little less butter and didn't measure the ranch, used just enough to coat the potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 630) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States