Cheesy Ranch Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I've made this twice, the first time cutting butter down greatly and we couldn't get enough of it. I made it again with all cheddar cheese (all i had) and still cut the butter down...it was totally different than the first time. Not sure if it was the cheddar or if I didn't cut the butter down enough, but it was horrible. Grease was pouring out of the sides and pooled on top....it was soggy with grease!! And totally inedible. So....cut butter down (or emit!), use right kinda cheese.....and, I would allow yourself a little extra time and cut potatoes a little bigger. I think it does more for the taste and maybe helps soak up some of that butter! but your bake time will increase!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
The only thing I can think of to make this better would be bacon . . . which I believe I will add the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Delicious! Only need 2 tbl of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLAMFX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I read other reviews and cut the butter in 1/2. A really simple and easy dish. The family raved over it. A definite do again some evening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Had some potatoes to use so i thought i would try these. My oven does cook hot so i set timer for 45. Did check them at 30 mins and they were mush. So think i will make mashed potatoes with them if itry again i will not cover
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Loved it! My family devoured this dish. Only changes I made was I used Lite Peppercorn Ranch, cause that is what I had on hand & used less butter. Will make this again, and recommend to anyone thinking about trying this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
These are amazing! Made them just like says!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamgoofy21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Taste was good...however was extremely greasy even with omitting the butter....will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I omitted the butter as many other reviews suggested and found it too dry. I put in about 4 Tbsp butter while mixing in the ranch and the cheese to get the texture I wanted. I then put it in a crock pot on warm so that I could take it to the in-laws for dinner, and I dont know if the crock pot contributed to the dryness, but by the time we ate it, it wasnt creamy anymore. Also, the warm ranch dressing flavor was slightly odd. Still tasty, but I will go back to cheese hashbrown casserole for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Strickler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This simple potato dish turned out way better than I had hoped. I'm choosey about my Ranch dressing, so I picked the brand I like best: O'Charley's. I did use the entire 16 oz. of the dressing in the casserole and I'm glad I did. It was rich and creamy mixed in with the melted cheese. Thanks for this great side dish that my husband and I really enjoyed! Oh, and I didn't think the butter made the dish greasy, although the creaminess of the melted cheese and dressing would probably mean you could leave it out altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 630) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States