Cheesy Ranch New Red Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
Excellent recipe. I made is for some friends and they loved it! I followed some others advice though and made some changes. I don't think I will ever try making it as the recipe says. I used 12 medium sized new red potatoes and cut them into quarters. I boiled them for almost 15 minutes. I then mixed the potatoes, cheese, and ranch dressing, along with 1/3 c of chopped green onions, and placed them in a 2 quart casserole dish. I baked it for about 10 minutes and it came out wonderful. Some of the potatoes will break down so it is more of a casserole type dish. One word of caution - pick your ranch dressing carefully. Since the potatoes and cheese are very mild in flavor, the taste of your dressing will really stand out. Pick a mild flavored ranch. I tried using a Bacon Ranch, and I thought the bacon flavor was a little too strong. With the medium sized potatoes, I ended up with enough food for 8. I didn't add any extra dressing or cheese either. In fact, next time I may cut it back just a little. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2000
These potatoes were great. Instead of cutting them in half though, I quartered the potatoes prior to boiling them. After they were cooked I put them in a casserole dish and spread the dressing on and then sprinkled the cheese over the top. I stirred it together and then put in the oven. I think this was a bit easier than fussing with each individual potato half. These are best right out of the oven, the leftovers weren't as tasty. Overall this recipe is delicious-we all enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
Simply Delicious! I made these potatoes last night and they were great. My husband loved them, but had one request- add bacon next time! Even my finicky 13-month-old gobbled them down in no time! This is a great recipe because its so quick and packed with flavor. I modified it a little, like most everyone else. I boiled 11 potatoes for a little over 15 minutes, and quartered them (although next time I'd slice slice them thick), put them in a 2-quart casserole dish, covered with just over a cup of ranch, 2/3 cup of chopped green onions, and 1 1/2 cups of shredded colby jack cheese. I baked them for almost 10 minutes, and they were fantastic. This will definitley be a regular at our dinner table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
Very good as is but I think next time I will use other reviewer's suggestions and sprinkle some green onions and bacon bits over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2002
Very good. I used Idaho potatoes and the skins should have been removed. I bet new red potatoes would have been great. I also quartered the potatoes and mixed the ranch dressing with the potatoes and sprinkled the cheese and pepper on top. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This is definately a fantastic base recipe. I made a few adjustments. I halved the recipe as there are only two of us. I cut the potatoes in half and then in fifths. Instead of boiling, I put them in a greased 4x5.5" pan. I sprinkled Italian seasonings and garlic salt on top. Baked in 350 for 50 minutes. Drizzled ranch and cheese over top and mixed potatoes up. Then sprinkled crushed seasoned croutons on top and put in oven for another 5 minutes. So so good! Will definately put this one in the recipe box! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEASTMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
These were delish. I cubed them up before boiling, stirred in the ranch and cheese and then placed them in a foiled line pan for easy clean up. Topped with crumbled bacon and heated through. Be sure not to cook them too long, as they will break up. Yum, there were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Southlake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This was absolutley scrumptious! So simple and so good! Next time I will thickly slice the potatoes instead of cutting them in half. That should balance out the flavors better. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Thanks for a great new way for me to prepare my potatoes. I really like the dressing and cheese idea. Next time I may try some peppercorn ranch or you could even use blue cheese dressing...it's really up to your personal preference. I did add some green onions and bacon bits to mine. Oh... and don't forget that dusting of freshly ground black pepper!! Thanks F.R.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
Too greasy - I made these casserole style as other reviewers suggested. I used 3/4 cup ranch and about 6 oz sharp cheddar. They tasted fine, but the grease floating on the top of the pan was really a turn off. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States