Cheesy Quinoa Pilaf with Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Really tasty. I had pine nuts and they tasted so rich after being toasted in the olive oil. I also only had parmesan and it was good, but next time I will try the gouda to have a really special flavor. This stood alone as a fantastic main dish as the quinoa is very filling and full of protein. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This was the first time I made any recipe with quinoa. I have to say it was a HIT!. My husband loved it. I think I wil try it with less cheese more spinich and pine nuts the next time. For sure a keeper! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
easy, nutritious, and delicious! this dish is so simple yet so tasty and filling. it seems like you can make substitutions where youd like - i subbed grated parmigiano cheese for the gouda, added some chopped fresh onions at the garlic simmering stage, and just about doubled the spinach. i also used approx the recommended amount of olive oil but used about 3/4 as directed in the beginning and saved the rest to drizzle on top of the spinach and quinoa once i mixed it in. seriously great, and so good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
i hope everyone eles on this website LOVES this reipe. I personly love quinoa and me and my mom decided to make it. But we used pine nuts and parmason so it's almost the same. the only reason we used pine nuts was because thats what we had plus everybody said pine nuts were awesome in the quinoa so. i hope ya'll love it. P.S i give it five stars. P.P.S. I love this so much, i could eat it a lot!!! lol :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swishel3
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This was delicious. I think i added mroe spinach because I always add more veggies and I used laughing cow garlic and herb cheese wedges because that is what was in the fridge. This was very easy and I loved the way the sunflower seeds tasted in this.. I'll def make this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This is my family's new favorite dish! We use the pine nuts and parmesan. We also use about half of the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
TEN STARS!! This recipe could easily be served in a fine dining restaurant! I doubled the recipe for hubby and I and it's a very generous serving each. Such simple ingredients turn into an amazing dish that I would eat as a main course not just a side dish. I used half the olive oil and half the cheese called for (grated parmesan romano blend) to save quite a few calories and still get the same flavor. Because I cut out half of the salty cheese, I ground sea salt and fresh pepper to add just before I mixed in the spinach. Do Not leave out the lemon juice! It really sets of the flavors of this dish. Also, I used pine nuts since so many people recommended it and I'm so happy I did. I could eat this once a week for years to come and hubby agrees!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This was very delicious but TOO cheesy. I think if I had even cut the cheese in HALF it would still have had plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Oh my gosh! If I could give this recipe 10 stars, I would! This is my new favorite quinoa recipe. Just a note, this recipe is for ONE serving. I QUADRUPLED it to make about 4 – 5 servings. I use pre-rinsed quinoa, so I followed the cooking directions on the box for 1 cup (dry) of quinoa. I used pine nuts (which I’m crazy about) and parmesan cheese. Next time I will add the nuts with the garlic and cook for only 2 minutes because I was afraid of the nuts getting too brown. I did not quadruple the olive oil and lemon juice, though. I still used only 3 Tbsp. olive oil and about 1 Tbsp. lemon juice. And I used 2 large garlic cloves. Thank you, thank you for this amazing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
this was very tasty. I did mess up because i thought the recipe said goat cheese but then I saw it said goat cheese gouda. Dont know if that would make a difference or not. This was very good and easy to make. I would double or tripple the recipes. The servings were kinda small :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States