Cheesy Quinoa Pilaf with Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I served this for dinner tonight with a Grilled Lemon Garlic Mahi Mahi. It was delicious! I used 1/2 regular goat cheese and 1/2 shredded parm. I think I will try adding some sauteed mushrooms to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I made this tonight for dinner and we loved it!! It was fast and also nice and easy. I used shredded Parmesan and that worked fine, but I'd be curious to try it with the gouda. The toasted sunflower seeds was a scrumptious and unexpected touch that added a delicious crunch. The cheese made things nice and creamy. I highly recommend at least doubling the recipe to get enough. I will definitely be making this again! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane442

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I am always looking for new and creative quinoa and couscous recipes to try and this was a great inspiration, which is why I am giving it five stars despite the fact that I didn't necessarily follow the recipe. I used less olive oil, more spinach, no lemon juice(which I would have liked to use if I had it on hand), plain goat cheese and pine nuts. It was really delicious. The toasted pine nuts flavored the whole dish with a unique and tasty nutty flavor. I am looking forward to trying the original recipe and some more variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
4x the recipe. I used feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
After reading the review dated April 15, I decided I needed to alter the recipe a little bit. The original had way too many grams of fat (good fats, but fats nonetheless)! I only used 1 Tablespoon of olive oil- I figured I could add more if I needed to, but that amount ended up being fine. The other thing I did was omit the sunflower seeds. By this change and deletion, I figured I left out over 35 grams of fat! The only other change I made was use feta cheese instead because that was what I had on hand. The result? It was delicious! I served it with grilled corn on the cob and grilled chicken. I will definitely make it again, although it seems that pine nuts would be a great addition, as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Excellent! I added some summer squash and used feta instead of gouda. Very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This was Great... I Quadrupled the Recipe. Changes: Pinenuts, 2.5 ounces of Goat Cheese, 2.5 ounces Parmesan. I cooked the quinoa with a chicken bouillon cube. I Added: a pinch of kosher salt, red pepper and black pepper to the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trishafaye

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nederland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Loved this recipe. I did use pine nuts and parmesan cheese. But I am sure it would be great with the original ingredients too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Fair, just a little too bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I found this to be very good. I had to sub pine nuts for sunflower seeds and parmesan for the goat cheese. The lemon juice adds a little extra flavor that shouldn't be skipped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States