Cheesy Quinoa Pilaf with Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This is really good! A friend recommended I try quinoa as a replacement for rice as part of my slow journey on the path to healthier eating and this fit the bill as I already knew I liked the rest of the ingredients. The changes I made were to sub sliced almonds for the sunflower seeds, mozzarella for the gouda (I used a little more cheese than called for) and extra spinach. I'd saved the flaavoured oil from a jar of sun-dried tomatoes and used that to cook this. Very flavourful, and nothing over powered the other. Downside is how much the dish makes; at least triple the recipe for a family of 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Loved it. Didn't have goat cheese, so I used grated parmesan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cardston, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
It was a bit hit with all the family. I used sliced almonds and smoked gouda and it was fabulous. The lemon really does make the dish - don't skip it if possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASMAY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I thought this was very good however I think a stronger cheese would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Outstanding! I quadrupled the recipe so my husband and I could have a little leftover. I used organic pre washed quinoa so no need to rinse. Per the other comments I reduced the oil. Do not skip the lemon juice. The sunflower seeds gave it a perfect crunch and I will try pine nuts the next time. I used parmesan cheese but will try feta as well.Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
The recipe is supposed to serve three? As a small side, I guess. In my opinion it's more like two decent sides, or one generous main serving for vegetarians, with a side of lentils or something. The flavors are excellent, though I used plain old chopped pecans and colby jack cheese. Something about the toasted nuts with the quinoa is very good. I toasted my quinoa in a dry skillet before cooking it, and I like to cook it in broth for more flavor. When it was cooked, I didn't cool it off just to heat it up again. I'm not sure what purpose that step serves. I started the nuts right before the quinoa was cooked and put it in hot. As a low-carber, next time I would add a LOT more spinach and maybe up the amount of cheese to go along with that. Because it was just cheese and not cheese sauce, the texture of this dish was very sticky, but I still liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Maybe this requires an acquired taste but the misture of goat cheese and lemon juice was not tasty. Another meal that also seems to require more salt for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Loved this recipe. So quick and easy to make. Could eat as a meal or a side dish. Great nutty taste and creamy. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I'm not much of a cook. I have no experience, but this was easy. I didn't have everything so I substituted almonds for the sunflower seeds and lime juice for the lemon juice. Since I dislike gouda, I also used feta instead. It turned out good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
used roasted/salted sunflower seeds + parmesian/romano mix cheese; can easily double the spinach next time. Very healthy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States