Cheesy Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
My DH made these potatoes for dinner the other night and we were very (pleasantly)surprised with how well they turned out! My DH did make some changes (as suggested by other reviewers); he added all the cheddar cheese called for, but also added two Kraft cheese slices to the mix. As well, he did not layer the ingredients, but rather just mixed them all together with salt, pepper, cayenne (about 1/2 tsp) and some garlic powder (2 tsp). Lastly, he added about 1/4 cup of milk to allow for a creamier consistency. In the end, we thought they were great and we will make again...the only other thing we will change is that we will add a lot more onion (1 medium would be good in my opinion).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2001
We've had this recipe in our family for years. Instead of the shredded cheese, we use Velveeta. It makes a huge difference. It's an excellent, quick side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
This was a quick and easy recipe. I added a small amount of milk and used a mixture of Velveta & shredded cheddar cheese. This was very good and tasted alot like cheesy scalloped potatoes. Mine were done in 18 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
I added a little milk to the casserole dish, they were done in twenty minutes and they didnt dry out with the milk added. Very good and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
YUMMY! I think this is awesome, some people thought bland - I thought perfect! Even my picky husband and kids adored it. Yes the cheese did get a little crunchy at the sides, I'll just add it after the 1st 10 min. next time. I never dreamed anything microwaved could taste so good!!! I also added a little garlic salt for taste and parsley flakes for looks. PERFECT! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coot226
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
Thankyou for such a great recipe. My husband says he will never eat boxed potatoes again.Fresh ingredients - not dried up potatos in a box. Make sure you slice your potatoes thin - It was so easy and quick to make.I like to make this with a good marinated steak cooked on my George foreman grill. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coot226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This is GOOOOOD & easy. I did like some said & didnt add the cheese until the second half. I also mixed in sour cream & garlic powder. Mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
I don't know if I did something wrong, but the potatoes didn't turn out well AT ALL! Some of the potatoes didn't get done all the way through and those that were done tasted very bland. I don't think I'll try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
We really liked this recipe. Simple, easy, and flavorful. Just the way we like it. The only differences I did was to cube the potatoes instead of slice them (much easier to stir later), and to sprinke on the cheese after the stir instead of in the beginning, so it was nicely layered on the potatoes. This one will go into regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
These didn't taste like anything but potatoes with cheese melted on top. I made them because I thought my 8 year old neice would like them. She wouldn't eat them. Plus they got super greasy, I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States