Cheesy Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
My DH made these potatoes for dinner the other night and we were very (pleasantly)surprised with how well they turned out! My DH did make some changes (as suggested by other reviewers); he added all the cheddar cheese called for, but also added two Kraft cheese slices to the mix. As well, he did not layer the ingredients, but rather just mixed them all together with salt, pepper, cayenne (about 1/2 tsp) and some garlic powder (2 tsp). Lastly, he added about 1/4 cup of milk to allow for a creamier consistency. In the end, we thought they were great and we will make again...the only other thing we will change is that we will add a lot more onion (1 medium would be good in my opinion).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This was one of the most simple yet delicious dishes I've tried! I would definitely recommend it for anyone needing a quick and easy side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
I love this recipe. I have made it many times and it is always wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
It can't get any easier than this!! I didn't layer the items, I just cut them then stirred together with Velveeta and some garlic powder, salt, pepper. I also used a little milk to make it creamier---just like scalloped potatoes without the wait time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This is an incredibly easy and very tasty cheesy potato recipe! I used garlic salt, pepper, and cayenne for the seasoning. I also used half velveeta and half cheddar cheese and probably used closer to 2 cups. I added a little milk like other people suggested. I am so happy to find this quick recipe for cheesy potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Really good. I will be making this from now on when I need something quick. Thank you Iona!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
instead of microwave i seared the potatoes and onions in a pan with olive oil, then when they got a little brown and the onions were clear i added more water and boiled them until they were a little soft, from there i drained them and put them in a casserole dish and baked them with a whole bag of cheddar cheese at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes, they were so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
THESE WERE GOOD, BUT I ADDED SOME STUFF TO THE BASIC RECIPE. I ADDED SOME FAT FREE RANCH DRESSING AND BACON BITS TO MAKE IT SORT OF LIKE POTATOE SKINS. PLUS I CUT BACK ON THE CHEESE A BIT TO MAKE IT LOWER IN FAT. I LIKE THE FACT YOU CAN MAKE IT IN THE MICRO INSTEAD OF THE OVEN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I have made this recipe a few times and love it. My kids really love it also. You can easily add to the recipe. I added a little garlic powder and some leftover chopped up ham from easter. YUMMY!! Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
I thought these were very tasty and easy to make. I didn't layer, but stirred everything together. I also added a pinch of cayenne for a little zing. The cheese even crusted a little like it would in the oven. Will definitely keep this recipe for when I need a quick side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJHMIRACLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dewitt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States