Cheesy Potatoes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This is a good "jumping off point" type recipe. Always good to have for the basic quantities, time and temp. The rest can be what you have on hand - for us, better with some chopped up left over bacon sprinkled on top near the end. Not (5) stars as is for my family. Too bland for our tastes but a good base. The "most helpful" review is really that. It's much better with the addition of the soup and no processed cheese loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kewaskum, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Used Yukon gold, excellent recipe. Didn't add onions as family doesn't like them. Super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Yummy but I used kraft singles and half the butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This is how I make scalloped potatoes too except I add crushed Town House Crackers to the mix...........very yummy. Have made these for years and my family loves them!!! Only down side is that you do have to use a big baking dish and leave a good 1 1/2 - 2 inches of room at the top so they don't cook-over. However, my family always says the best batches are the one that do cook-over:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I just made this today all I can say is YUMMY!!!!! My hubby loves it and so do I. I didn't change any thing! its perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandy
Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This is my mother's scallped potato recipe and I've been making it for years. Thank you Holly for posting with measured ingredients. I've been throwing this delicious dish together for years and have never measured. Now I can finally give out the recipe. Some of the reviews have modified by adding flour etc. which completely changes the taste and texture of this recipe. If anything I agree that it's easy to add in additional ingredients like various peppers or shredded cheese between layers or on top to add a kick to the taste. My husband likes to add red devil sauce once on his plate. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SalPal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Very good but we prefer a more creamy cheesy potatoe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
i dont have processed cheese food in the house unless im making rotel dip so i used shredded sharp cheddar cheese and i felt it would need more than s&p so i added some garlic. i used a big onion and i think id use a smaller one next time. all in all a basic solid recipe just needs more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I made it for dinner and my family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
VERY GOOD! I cut the recipe in half as there are only 2 of us. Other than that, I followed it exactly. To cut down on prep time, I peeled and sliced the potatoes and kept them in a bowl of water until it was time to prepare dinner. This was a very enjoyable side dish to a ham dinner and I will be making it again. Thank you Holly Bobst for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States