Cheesy Potatoes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
Attention low carb dieters! I did this recipe with cauliflower instead of potatoes, and it was muy delicioso! I took the advise of others and cut the butter in half, I also used a combination of co/jack cheese and pepper jack: spicy and yummy. I would recommend cutting down the milk, as the veggies have water in them that releases as cooked. You could cook the in advance and drain them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
Good dish. Cheddar cheese does not melt well. I'll stick to the original recipe next time. Thanks Holly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DASTUBBS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Andover, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
Everyone loved these potatoes. I did use a little less butter as suggested by other reviews and I divided the cheese into to different kinds - 1/2 Velveeta, 1/2 CoJack. They were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
You want to make this recipie even better? For a nice bold taste add some crumbled bacon. Not into bold anddaring? Add some ham for a more subtle elegant taste! You want regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrystleHanes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
These potatoes were awesome! I made a few changes to the recipe though. I didnt use velveta because we dont like that, instead I used a bag of cheddar cheese. Also, instead of using 1 1/2 of milk i used a can of cream soup (any kind) and mixed that with milk. It turned out to be a bit too much butter but they were still awesome and really yummy! Everyone was chowing down. They are also good for leftovers, I had them for lunch today! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
I made this recipe many times awhile back and then lost and forgot about it. Need something to go with hot wings, bingo. I do cut down on the process cheese and add shredded sharp cheddar to it. yummmy yum yum. thanks Holly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
Very good - nice and cheesy! We had to use a very large baking dish to hold ours, and we used real cheddar cheese (mild). I'd probably add a bit more onion myself as we enjoy onion in our cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
I decided to try this recipe because I needed a potato side dish to accompany steak and had all the ingredients on hand. This dish was very tasty and held up good even when reheated. I did cut the butter amount in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
Recipe was very tasty and was a big hit. My only problems with recipe were "medium baking dish" - my medium baking dish was too small & cooked over into my oven (had to put it on cookie sheet) and directions do not specify greased or ungreased. I would definitely say ungreased. It all fit well into my baking dish nicely but baked over anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
These were very good. My husband loved them as he is a big fan of scalloped potatoes and this version is much easier than making the cream sauce by hand and then adding the cheese. I halved the recipe and used 1/2 colby-jack, 1/2 processed cheese and added flour to the milk before pouring it into the dish and it was yummy. I also added a little paprika with the salt and pepper for each layer. It won't have the same smooth texture as it does if you make the sauce separate from scratch, but the key is to keep stirring this as it bakes. I also have a mandolin so slicing the potatoes is a snap and it didn't take me long to put this together. Great time saving recipe if you are craving home made scalloped potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States