Cheesy Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
This soup was great. I followed the suggestion of other users and used half chicken broth and half water. I also added about 10 pieces of cooked, crumbled bacon to it, as well as about a cup of chopped broccoli. And oh yeah-- I made this in the slow cooker. I cooked the potatoes, water, broth, onions and celery on "Low" for about 6 hours. (When the potatoes were tender.) I then stirred it up a bit with a fork to break the potatoes up and make a thicker soup. Then I added the cheese, and once it was melted, I added the milk/flour mixture, the bacon and the broccoli. I kept it heated until it thickened, and it was perfect for a cool day. Thank you! Note: If you decide to go the slow cooker route, it is important that you don't add the milk or cheese until the end. Otherwise, everything seperates and looks kind of gross. I also chose to wait to add the broccoli because it can easily overcook in the time it takes potatoes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, Idaho, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Excellent recipe! I'm glad I read the reviews before making, as I did make a few changes: I used a whole stick of salted butter, also added ground black pepper, garlic salt, and dried parsley and used sharp cheddar cheese vs. American. Got out my trusty potato masher and mashed up the potatoes before I added the cheese. Also took the advice of other readers and used 2 cups of water and 2 cups of chicken broth. For garnishes I put out garlic and cheese croutons and Durkee french fried onions and served with a loaf of garlic toast. Very, very good! Would definitely make again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
Worked well with the following changes: cheddar instead of processed cheese (are you kidding?), green onions, garlic, salt, pepper, chicken broth instead of some of the water, and some worcestershire sauce. Didn't use as much butter either. Next time will use sharper cheese but less of it, and add a bit more worcestershire so the soup is tangy without being too fatty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
This was an excellent soup recipe. I found that it needed a little extra flavor, so I added 2 tsp. salt and 1/2 tsp. pepper. The recipe was simple and didn't require a lot of fancy ingredients. Super!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe, if you want to you could add a little sour cream, for more creamier soup you could add a little more cream (heavy) or you could always add a little green onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
easy to make, absolutely delicious!! Used the chicken broth in place of water, couple tablespoons of minced garlic, velveeta cheese and bacon...my husband and children LOVED it...they ate the whole pot up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Wish I could give this one 10 stars. It will be on my list of favorite recipes and I have been cooking for many years. I used Velveeta for the American cheese slices and could get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Wow this soup turned out great!! I followed Dorese's modifications plus my own - used a slow cooker for about 6 hours on low(water, chicken broth,onions celery & potatoes) when tender added cheese - when melted added flour and milk mixture (added cornstarch also i like thick soups) then crumbled bacon and corn. It was wonderful. Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
This was absolutely wonderful.....I did try it the way it was written up the first time and my family loved it then. The next time I did do Velveeta instead of sandwich cheese. Mainly because I did not have that much sandwich cheese on hand. My husband asked to cut down on the celery a little bit. I did try the chicken stock the second time or should I say a chicken bullion. My family loved this recipe. If your substituting stock for water or a bullion cube to make the chicken stock do not add salt. I forget this allot of times that it will make anything way to salty. I wish people would give the recipe the chance first.... and leave out what they family wont eat. You will make it again if nothing else use it as a good base soup and add then. The first time I made this it was really good. So don't defeat the recipe before you try it like its written. I can see someone using different cheese at first just because the amount of singles but nothing else at first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This is a great recipe. I did make changes I used 1/2 the potatoes added ham, brocolli, provalone and a little parm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States