Cheesy Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Yummmm!!! I boiled my potatoes in chicken broth, used Velveeta cheese instead of American, and I thickened the soup with instant mashed potato flakes. Then I topped it off with bacon bits. It was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Perryton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I made this soup a couple days ago and we really enjoyed it. :) After reading the reviews, I wanted to use chicken broth instead of water, but, I couldn't find one at that time. So, I decided to use about 1tbsp of powdered chicken broth to add some more flavors to the soup. I agree with other reviewers that the use of sharp cheddar cheese will increase the flavor of the soup. So, I wanted to use sharp cheddar cheese instead of American cheese (slices). But, after thinking about it for a while, I decided to use American cheese slices. I did so because I actually made creamy soup about a week ago (w/ a different recipe) and unfortunately, for some reasons, my soup was separated at the end. I believe that the reason was that the cheese & the soup base wasn't blended well. I was afraid of it to happen to my soup again. When I put American cheese slices in the soup base, they melted perfectly. It was very easy to handle, too. I also added milk & flour mix to the soup (I added about 1~2tbsp more flour to make the soup thicker). The soup was very flavorful. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
I used this recipe for a church fund-raising event. I substituted salted butter and a combination of whole milk and half & half. It received rave reviews from everyone. A huge success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Great soup! I also used chicken broth instead of water and it turned out awesome. Didn't have any celery, so I added a little celery salt instead. Perfect for my husband with a sore throat. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kremmling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Wow this soup turned out great!! I followed Dorese's modifications plus my own - used a slow cooker for about 6 hours on low(water, chicken broth,onions celery & potatoes) when tender added cheese - when melted added flour and milk mixture (added cornstarch also i like thick soups) then crumbled bacon and corn. It was wonderful. Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This is a great recipe. I did make changes I used 1/2 the potatoes added ham, brocolli, provalone and a little parm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Wish I could give this one 10 stars. It will be on my list of favorite recipes and I have been cooking for many years. I used Velveeta for the American cheese slices and could get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Wow this was great! Although I made some changes. I was afraid it would be bland so I added seasonings, as the recipe does not call for any. Ok, so here is what I did, I followed the recipe up until the potatoes were tender. I then added garlic salt, salt, pepper, and a little bit of lemon pepper. I used sharp cheaddar cheese instead of the sliced cheese. I just bought a 1/2 lb chunk, diced it up, and threw it in when recomended to. I ended up having to add more milk, as there was not enough liquid. This was yummy! I served with baguettes from my local grocery store. You must try this. Not sure if my family would have liked it without all the seasoning I added, but that is up to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEPRINCESS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taylor, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
WOW WOW WOW!! SO YUMMY!! My hubby and I both really enjoyed it! I took reviewers advice and added a chicken boullion cube and chicken broth rather than just water. Also added some minced garlic. I topped it off with bacon bits sour cream and shredded cheese. A++++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Excellent recipe! I'm glad I read the reviews before making, as I did make a few changes: I used a whole stick of salted butter, also added ground black pepper, garlic salt, and dried parsley and used sharp cheddar cheese vs. American. Got out my trusty potato masher and mashed up the potatoes before I added the cheese. Also took the advice of other readers and used 2 cups of water and 2 cups of chicken broth. For garnishes I put out garlic and cheese croutons and Durkee french fried onions and served with a loaf of garlic toast. Very, very good! Would definitely make again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States