Cheesy Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Family ate it up tonight. I did use chicken broth and sliced some carrots. Used cheddar and colby cheeses. Great for our chilly evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Wonderful! I also used Chicken stock in lieu of water. I also added a Tbls. of powdered Ham Soup Base. I used 4 oz of mild cheddar and 4 oz of sharp cheddar instead of the american. cheese. This is the best Potato Soup I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nolagyrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I usually only leave reviews on really good recipes or really bad ones, this one is AWESOME, I've made it several times, it is much better with broth instead of water, also use at least 2% milk (whole milk/or half and half makes it creamier), just know you have to check your diet at the door!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Very good! Added 1/2 chicken broth, other half water, 1 tbsp garlic and crumbled bacon on top Next time will try with added changes and 1/2 cup sour cream. yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Good but I think I may have used too little cheese. I used only half of what was recommended (because I wanted to reduce salt content) and although it was delicious, something was lacking...maybe I will try mozzarella cheese mixed in next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I loved this soup the only thing i added to it was pieces of cooked bacon and less onion it was delicious thats why i give it five stars !!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tijuana, Baja California, Mexico
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Yummmm!!! I boiled my potatoes in chicken broth, used Velveeta cheese instead of American, and I thickened the soup with instant mashed potato flakes. Then I topped it off with bacon bits. It was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Perryton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I made this soup a couple days ago and we really enjoyed it. :) After reading the reviews, I wanted to use chicken broth instead of water, but, I couldn't find one at that time. So, I decided to use about 1tbsp of powdered chicken broth to add some more flavors to the soup. I agree with other reviewers that the use of sharp cheddar cheese will increase the flavor of the soup. So, I wanted to use sharp cheddar cheese instead of American cheese (slices). But, after thinking about it for a while, I decided to use American cheese slices. I did so because I actually made creamy soup about a week ago (w/ a different recipe) and unfortunately, for some reasons, my soup was separated at the end. I believe that the reason was that the cheese & the soup base wasn't blended well. I was afraid of it to happen to my soup again. When I put American cheese slices in the soup base, they melted perfectly. It was very easy to handle, too. I also added milk & flour mix to the soup (I added about 1~2tbsp more flour to make the soup thicker). The soup was very flavorful. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
I used this recipe for a church fund-raising event. I substituted salted butter and a combination of whole milk and half & half. It received rave reviews from everyone. A huge success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Great soup! I also used chicken broth instead of water and it turned out awesome. Didn't have any celery, so I added a little celery salt instead. Perfect for my husband with a sore throat. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Banman Hergert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kremmling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States