Cheesy Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Very good soup to make for a rainy day! Used 1/2 chicken broth, 1/2 water. A couple slices of american cheese and some cheddar. A little garlic salt and some pepper. YUMMMMMMM..... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This soup was so very easy and my husband LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This is easy and tasty. I followed suggestions and added 1 chicken stock cube along with the water (if you don't use chicken broth/stock then be sure to salt the potatoes as they cook for a much better flavor, not so bland), added cheddar instead of processed cheese (used about 3/4 c grated), added 1/4t garlic granules and topped with green onions as I didn't have parsley. It was really a nice blend of flavors and so easy to make. I'm making it again tonight -- twice in one week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I was looking for a recipe to mimic my dad's potato soup. This didn't do it--it was better! (Sorry, Dad.) The texture was absolutely perfect. I left the potato skins on, used 12oz of Velveeta instead of the cheese slices (didn't want to open all those packages), and added a little garlic salt and black pepper at the end. I didn't mash the potatoes as others have suggested, but I did kind of poke at them with a spoon when they were really tender so that they fell apart into smaller pieces. Turned out delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Family ate it up tonight. I did use chicken broth and sliced some carrots. Used cheddar and colby cheeses. Great for our chilly evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Wonderful! I also used Chicken stock in lieu of water. I also added a Tbls. of powdered Ham Soup Base. I used 4 oz of mild cheddar and 4 oz of sharp cheddar instead of the american. cheese. This is the best Potato Soup I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nolagyrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I usually only leave reviews on really good recipes or really bad ones, this one is AWESOME, I've made it several times, it is much better with broth instead of water, also use at least 2% milk (whole milk/or half and half makes it creamier), just know you have to check your diet at the door!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Very good! Added 1/2 chicken broth, other half water, 1 tbsp garlic and crumbled bacon on top Next time will try with added changes and 1/2 cup sour cream. yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Good but I think I may have used too little cheese. I used only half of what was recommended (because I wanted to reduce salt content) and although it was delicious, something was lacking...maybe I will try mozzarella cheese mixed in next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I loved this soup the only thing i added to it was pieces of cooked bacon and less onion it was delicious thats why i give it five stars !!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tijuana, Baja California, Mexico
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States